Seafood Omelets with Creamy Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was tasty but rich. Too much for breakfast, but we did enjoy it for dinner with a glass of white wine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good. We had some leftover Dungeness crab from the night before and this was a perfect use for it. We did not need the shrimp as we had enough crab. The filling was a perfect mixture that accented the taste of the crab without overpowering it. Also, instead of using the sauce part of the recipe, I used hollandaise sauce to top the omelette with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I was a little worried reading some of the reviews that it was just OK. Boy, with some very minor modifications, it was amazing! I doubled the recipe to serve several of us. I also had fresh crab, so I used 12 oz. of that rather than 1/2 shrimp 1/2 crab. This was more than enough meat, so I did not double that part. I used a few shakes of Old Bay seasoning in the filling sauce, a bit of paprika, and about 3 shakes of Louisiana hot sauce for some kick. Any time that heavy cream was called for, I used evaporated FF milk. As for cooking the eggs, I cooked 1 cup of the eggs in a 10" skillet, and just kept rotating the pan, rather than trying to flip it. I made 2 large omelets, instead of several small ones. I used 1/2 the crab filling in each one on half the cooked omelet, flipped it over, and topped with cheese sauce. My husband thought it was to die for, and it takes a great meal to truly impress him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Sorry...this just was "ok"....nothing special. I had really looked forward to surprising DH with this one. He liked it but said it needed alot of "stuff" added to make it over the top, so to speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I had such high hopes for this one. I was very disappointed in what turned out to be a major mistake in serving this to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The only other place you can get an omlet like this is on a cruise ship. Super recipe. worth all the effort. Thanks Jennyw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I made this for dinner and wouldn't change a thing. I didn't think it took too much time like the previous post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
A lot of work for what is really just scrambled eggs with shrimp in cheese sauce. And the scrambled eggs are a lot easier and faster than the rolled omelets which get cold or dried out while assembling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Unbelievably good!! I made this with snowcrab legs and fresh shrimp (they're SO cheap atm). The only things I did differently were to make the omelettes with milk instead of cream, I used extra-Sharp Cheddar cheese (upped the amount a bit), and I omitted the nutmeg. Also sprinkled some sliced green onion over the top. What a delicious and decadent Christmas Day breakkie. Thanks, Jennyw!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Wow - this was awesome! I did not make the cheese sauce (too much work so early in the morning) or use shrimp - but followed the recipe - adding only some fresh chive to the eggs - and it was rich and lovely. I had some crab that my husband brought home from Alaska and we were saving for a special occasion. It is always a risk making something for the first time when using expensive ingredients. All I can say that the crab was not wasted on this dish - it was perfect for showing off the decadent nature of the seafood. It was lavish and heavenly. Many thanks for a great recipe!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States