Seafood Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This is an amazing recipe, thank you for posting it! I too opted for cocktail sauce in place of the ketchup. One thing I have to point out, just because I'm a perfectionist. If a new, I mean, new green cook were to look at this recipe, I'm quite sure they would only add the 2 6oz can's of shrimp. That is all this recipe calls for. I did do a double take and scanned the ingredients twice looking for the "seafood". LOL Just thought I'd point this out. Thanks for the great recipe! I had never made nor eaten Seafood Newburg before! It was great and company enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Harper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
So easy n came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Delish! I followed a few other reviewers suggestions and was thrilled with the result. I was careful about making sure the flour was cooked off. I added minced garlic, omitted the ketchup, added a touch of cayenne pepper, and substituted white wine for the sherry. I used about 3/4 pound of fresh (frozen) prawns instead of the canned shrimp. Served over rice, my hubby loved it! Can't believe how easy and quick this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was a great dish! Very simple and very tasty, I added about 1/2 cup sherry, to my taste. I put fresh broiled (3 - 6oz) lobster and 1# frozen shrimp. I used Pepperidge Farm Frozen pastry sheets, thawed, cut into 4 squares, put shrimp and lobster chunks, a little sauce, sealed the pastry and 20 minutes at 350. Serve hot with sauce, try twice baked Potatoes as a side. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great recipe. I also took the advice of others to spice this up a bit. I cooked the flour and butter mixture longer than 2 minutes, until it started to brown. I added some garlic, horseradish, and salt and pepper to the ketchup. I added uncooked peeled medium shrimp and cooked them in the sauce for 4 minutes. Served over wheat pasta. The shrimp was so tender and flavorful, the sauce complimented them perfectly! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was delicious, and my family loved it! The recipe doubled easily. I followed advice & added garlic with the butter and flour and left out ketchup and worcestershire (b/c I didn't have any). Great advice! I added catfish, shrimp & scallops & they cooked up quickly and beautifully. The great part is you can control the paprika to your taste & remember some Pillsbury biscuits to sop up the sauce. A great birthday dinner for my sister-in-law. I would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rennie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I've been looking for a great Newburgh recipe to replace the discontinued Knorr sauce mix. This comes the closest to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Excellent base sauce.... But................ Ditch the ketchup and double the sherry..... Turned out excellent! And I only used imitation crab meat over egg noodles.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I made this recipe in about 5 mins...it was terribly easy and quite tasty. As commented earlier, it is very important to cook off the flour with butter until there is no longer a flour taste otherwise you have a tasty watery buscuit mix. I didnt particularly care for the taste of ketchup so next time, i will look for alternatives but the consistency and flavor (other than ketchup) was superb. You make dinner quick and easy....thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States