Seafood Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
I've been looking all over for a good Newburg recipe, and this fit the bill. It's a "keeper" as far as I'm concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this, the kids less so. It was really easy and quick (always a plus!). I used imitation lobster since I am allergic to shellfish and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I would make this again. You may want to substitute cocktail sauce for the ketchup to give it a little more zip. I also substituted some claw crab meat for 1 can of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I doubled the sauce because I was going to add 1 lb fresh shrimp. I did one thing right. I tasted the sauce before I wasted the shrimp. This tastes like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
very good with lobster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Put sauce with shrimp, scallops and fish over soy noodles and the kids cleaned their plates. I grabbed a Knorr Newburg sauce, started to make that and decided I wouldn't have enough, so I jumped online and made this recipe in a flash. Tasted both sauces and much preferred this one to the "packet". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Easy to make. My husband didn't like it at all, it grew on me with every bite and our 2 yr old LOVED it. I used shrimp and imitation crab and served it over spiral noodles. It was like a rich mac & cheese sauce with a slight sherry taste (which goes away when reheated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWENSONL
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I added some garlic, it just doesn't seem complete with out garlic-1 clove cooked with the flour and butter. Also added a little half and half and topped with fresh grated Parmesan Reggiano. I liked this pretty well and would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I made this to go over some lobster ravioli, and it was quite good. Next time I might cut back on the ketchup just a tad and add a little more paprika. Also, my sauce got a bit too thick, so I will watch that more carefully next time, maybe cutting back on the flour or else keeping a little extra milk handy to thin it out. Since it is a very rich sauce, I will have to resign myself to making it only occasionally, but this is the recipe that I will turn to when the occasion arises. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I thought this was a very good meal. I did add the garlic as suggested and I added a bit more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States