Seafood Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
The flavor was not something either my husband or I liked. It didn't taste bad, but I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I thought this recipe was delicious, but I added garlic, cayenne pepper, and dill weed. I also added Cod and flounder. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I just finished making this recipe and it was good. I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked it at a higher temp to cook off the flour. I also threw in some imitation crab along with the shrimp and was pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
one small change was 2 tablespoons of ketchup and one of horseradish but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was dddddddddelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this yesterday as dinner for my mother and I. We really enjoyed it, it was a very good meal, except when we were cooking it I added white wine instead of sherry, and then the alchohol didn't cook out because I added it late. However, it was delicious all the same (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddywentveg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this for my first cooked meal in my apartment. I added some flounder to make it Seafood instead of just Shrimp. Served over a couple of flakey biscuits and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Lovely! I thought it was missing something so I added crushed garlic and that rounded it out nicely. DO taste your sauce before adding your prawns or other seafood. If it tastes like flour it means that the flour wasn't cooked off with the butter before the milk was added. Throw it out and go again, the temperatures of the mix once the milk is added are not high enough to cook the flour. What I prefer to do is to melt the butter first and then add the flour - equal parts butter to flour by weight. Cooked off properly, this will not taste like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmmbeeeeer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I thought this was a very good meal. I did add the garlic as suggested and I added a bit more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I made this to go over some lobster ravioli, and it was quite good. Next time I might cut back on the ketchup just a tad and add a little more paprika. Also, my sauce got a bit too thick, so I will watch that more carefully next time, maybe cutting back on the flour or else keeping a little extra milk handy to thin it out. Since it is a very rich sauce, I will have to resign myself to making it only occasionally, but this is the recipe that I will turn to when the occasion arises. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWENSONL
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I added some garlic, it just doesn't seem complete with out garlic-1 clove cooked with the flour and butter. Also added a little half and half and topped with fresh grated Parmesan Reggiano. I liked this pretty well and would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States