Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe... if you substitute some creole traditions. Take the time to make a roux instead of using the oil and tomato paste. A roux only takes an extra fifteen to twenty minutes to make and will add a depth of flavor lacking in this recipe's instructions. And I agree to add the file on the dish after it's been served. It should be used to taste--in the gumbo it creates an odd flavor that's not that appetizing. I couldn't find oysters, so I made mine with shrimp, scallops and crab claw meat. The spice ratio is great, and the cooking time is also more or less spot-on. Aside from the modifications, this is a very good gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this gumbo twice. My family loved it. I couldn’t find file power locally so I use fresh okra instead. Outside of that I followed the recipe. I'm from New Orleans, Louisiana and yes this does not start with a Roux. But it's easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yum! File powder is not readily available in the stores by me, so I added approximately 1/3 cup brown rice flower before adding the liquid, and that helped to thicken it up! I add uncooked shrimp and bay scallops when it is done and cover for 5 minutes, then serve it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this last night with a few adjustments (not because I'm fancy, I'm just not great at cooking). I couldn't find file power so none of that. I used scallops instead of oysters, along with the strimp and crab. I also added 1 cup of white rice. It came out great! I'm super proud of myself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Loved it as a base used loads of shrimp crab meat and clustered crabs didn't use file powder used a spice mixture and instead of hot pepper sauce used tiger sauce best gumbo ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Great recipe! I added 2# shrimp and a package of Andouille sausage. I will added about a cup of green onions at the end too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is a good gumbo recipe. The only thing I added and it made a huge taste difference was cajun link sausage. I didn't have a drop leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
For all the work it was not worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickelkhunter35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This gumbo was very flavorful but the 3/4 cup of oil was way too much, and next time I make it, I won't use canned crab--it kind of disappeared in the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltwater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I added 3 cans of sauce and 2 cans of sliced stewed tomatoes...with a lot more onion, celery and bell pepper. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States