Seafood Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I added 3 cans of sauce and 2 cans of sliced stewed tomatoes...with a lot more onion, celery and bell pepper. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Delicious!! Because I have young kids, I toned down the hot spices a bit, but this is a rich, delicious stew that freezes well. Obviously, the types of seafood you put in are also amenable to modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Great recipe! To the couple of people who said that gumbo "must have roux" or "doesn't have tomato sauce"... I have lived in Louisiana and I have Cajun and French relatives and those statements are not true. There is a "red gumbo" and a "brown gumbo".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was awesome awesome. I was scared to try gumbo for some reason, but my husband said this was the best Gumbo he had ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent gumbo recipe. I'd also like to mention in reply to LASTMANG0 above, this is a traditional 'Creole' gumbo, which do usually contain tomato, and don't use a roux at all. Cajun gumbo uses a roux (usually a very dark one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gawain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is easily a 5 star recipe. I couldn't find file powder anywhere at my grocery store, so I made a four roux instead, and it worked fine, I also subbed chicken stock for fish stock, since I couldn't find that either. I also added sliced smoked sausage, and omitted the white pepper. I followed the rest of the recipe to a "T" and wouldn't change a thing. It was delicious, and didn't make it to the leftover phase. A real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
We tweaked this one a little and it was MAJOR hit!!! Love this recipe!!! Will definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burgeoning Epicurean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnsboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is so good, and I was worried about the amount of grease but after you add the shrimp, crabmeat and rice, you really don't taste it. I didn't used white pepper and I didn't crush the bay leaf. I left out celery ( personal taste ) and I used 1/4 green bell pepper and a whole red bell pepper, I used seafood broth, no oysters but I used crab meat and that overpowered the shrimp a bit. I made brown rice to serve over it. It's really more of a effutae than a gumbo but it still makes a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Good recipe except for one thing. Add the file' to INDIVIDUAL bowls of gumbo. NEVER EVER cook file' as it will make the file' tough and destroy its delicate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made this recipe at the firehouse the other day. Firemen are the toughest critics around, and they loved it! Great, spicy taste! A definite pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States