Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
My husband loved this. I thought it was a little too rich but still good. I used about 1/4 shrimp and 3/4 imitation crab. Next time I'll probably do more shrimp, as the imitation crab isn't my favorite and the real stuff is just too expensive. I used flour tortillas as the recipe calls for, but I think I may try corn next time. Also, next time I'm definitely going to try adding a minced habanero pepper to the cream sauce to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very tasty. I made some modifications to fit what I had in my kitchen. Omitted the onion. I used can crab and shrimp instead of fresh. I had gruyere and mozzarella cheese so I used that instead of colby. I combined the shrimp, crab and cheese in a bowl. I heated CORN tortillas in the microwave to make them pliable. I filled each tortilla (I used 9) and rolled them up. I used a 7x11 greased glass dish. For the sauce, I melted the butter in a sauce pan then added HEAVY WHIPPING CREAM. Once heated, I removed from the heat and let cool for a few minutes. I then stirred in fat-free sour cream. I had some leftover filling so I sprinkled it over the enchiladas. I poured the sauce over the enchiladas and baked for 30 minutes. I will say that the sauce probably was not enough because the tortillas dried out a bit on top. Next time I will double it as some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Danke cooked these - doubled the recipe, added more cheese and they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
As written this would have been way too bland for our taste. So I sauteed bell and mildly hot peppers with the onion, added real garlic to both saute and sauce, added cayenne, chili powder, cumin, and paprika to taste. Let sit for close to 10 minutes after pulling it out of the oven to help the sauce set, which worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
my 6 yr old loved it. I topped with some about a 1/2 cup of salsa verde and fresh cilantro before cooking. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Add cream cheese and diced canned jalapeño peppers for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Followed all the advice. Good, but v. rich. Will be trying to lighten it up a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were OK. Although I was more pleased wtih the outcome than my husband was, I wasn't WOWED either.... Even after making significant alterations to the sauce (upon reviewing the ingredient list, I knew it was in need of serious doctoring), these were still too bland for my liking and soggier than I would have liked. As Caren did, I too made a roux with flour and added diced green chiles, chili powder, cumin and cayenne pepepr to my sauce. I did NOT use whipping cream (I had half-half in my fridge that needed to be used up) or double the sauce recipe and I stuck with garlic salt as directed. My only other change was to add a smidgin more than 1/4 c. of sauce to my seafood mixture to add a bit of moistness (with half of my chilies added to it - the other half went into my sauce). I was just serving two people, so I stuffed my enchiladas VERY full. I was able to make exactly 4 (8 in. size - personal preference) enchiladas with no filling left over. NOTE: Straight out of the oven, these are REALLY soggy. After setting up for 10 minutes, the consistency was much better. Served wtih a sprinkling of chopped green onion and tomato and Mexican rice / refried beans on the side, this was an allright meal. Thanks for sharing, Cathy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Great base for a recipe! I used real crab and top-quality shrimp. I would incorporate many of the changes the other reviewers suggested, including working a can of green chiles into the sauce or the filling, increasing the amount of sauce (don't worry about it being too thin; will thicken with the cheese when baked), adding a little hot sauce to zip it up a bit, serving with avocado & tomato, adding some of the sauce to the filling so it doesn't dry out, and placing some sauce in the bottom of the pan before adding rolled enchiladas. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States