Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
One word: WOW! This was so rich and delicious. I used closer to 1 lb.jumbo lump crabmeat from Costco in this dish. I also added one small can of green chilis and minced garlic per other reviewers' suggestions that the dish needed some "oomph". Be sure to put a spoonful of the sauce in the shrimp/crab/cheese filling to make it moist. This is company worthy. Thanks for an excellent recipe, Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I had some mistakes, but this still turned out nice. I forgot to add sour cream (just made a roux with flour (and the butter and 1/2 & 1/2), and also added a can of chopped chilis and 1 tsp chili powder, and salt too it) I used fresh garlic cloves. I doubled the seafood, and meant to quadruple the sauce, but accidentally only doubled the sauce. (which actually follows the recipe.) Then I ended up layering the dish like lasagna instead of rolling up each enchilada....this was super easy and still turned out fine. Tastes way better with condiments and garnishes. Husband though a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This had a good, different taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I have made this for friends and family. Everyone raves about it. I had to make a habit of printing extra recipes to give out. Worth the time and expense!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
When I made this the other night for dinner, I had several different palates to feed; so I had Colby and pepper jack cheeses and a can of diced green chilis to add. The sauce is very rich, but it bakes up very nicely. You may not want to add anything if you are serving it with a spicy side--which I didn't. My crabmeat was fishy, so I was wishing I had only used the shrimp. We felt this was a good recipe but that it needed doctoring. This has all kinds of possibilities, so thanks for the starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I made it for a large family gathering and now I'm 'on the hook' to make it every time we get together! I've read the suggestions and even tried a few, but this recipe is delicious just the way it is. I enjoy the subtle flavors of the creamy, cheesy goodness that surrounds the crab and shrimp. Fresh seafood is expensive and I would rather taste that than a lot of spices. This recipe is also a perfect jumping off point for a spicier dish, if that's what you prefer. Thanks for adding a wonderful new favorite to my seafood menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Selah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
too rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Litzen Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoven, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I tried it exactly how it is written and found it a bit bland, I like spicier foods there are a couple recomendations that I am going to try next, hopefully they will be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The sauce is bland. It is just ok. I was disappointed in light of the great reviews. I even made modifications as suggested the second time and though it was better, it was not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I loved these. I omitted the crab since I didn't have any on hand. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States