Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I was worried about how the recipe was going to turn out since it was my first time making enchiladas of any sort and I skewed from the original recipe quite a bit. I wanted to make enough for 10 enchiladas and I had the PERFECT amount. I followed Caren's changes to the recipe. I didn't have enough heavy cream so I mixed it with 2% milk to make it about 2 1/2 cups worth. I used 1 package imatation crab meat that I shredded with my hands and almost 3/4 bag of jumbo shrimp cut up into pieces. I used cornstarch instead of flour to thicken the sauce some. I didn't add sauce to the enchiladas like Caren did. I didn't want it any messier rolling them up. So I just poured the entire amount over the enchiladas ensuring to get the sides. I was able to stuff 10 enchiladas into the 9x13 pan. With about 8 minutes left in the cooking process I topped some cheese on top of the sauce and when it was done cooking, I placed sliced avocados on top. The enchiladas came out VERY tasty and moist!!! LOVED THEM!!! I paired the dish with black beans (with sprinkle of cheese on top) and spanish rice. My parents and husband claimed it was restaurant worthy! They were quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This dish is absolutely AWESOME! I used what I had on hand, i.e. clove garlic and I mixed some shrimp, canned crab meat and baby scallops for the sea food part the rest was verbatim and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My family raved about this recipe. I made minor substitutions. I used pepper jack cheese and large corn tortillas. Excellent! Thank you for publishing this! We will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I think this recipe needs modifications. Use corn tortillas for more authentic taste. I use cream, cerrano chile, lime juice and garlic to make a sauce. I saute onion with shrimp and add lime juice. I place a large spoonful of the mixture into each tortilla, add the sauce, shredded cheese and cilantro. Then pour the remaining sauce over the enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
One word: WOW! This was so rich and delicious. I used closer to 1 lb.jumbo lump crabmeat from Costco in this dish. I also added one small can of green chilis and minced garlic per other reviewers' suggestions that the dish needed some "oomph". Be sure to put a spoonful of the sauce in the shrimp/crab/cheese filling to make it moist. This is company worthy. Thanks for an excellent recipe, Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I had some mistakes, but this still turned out nice. I forgot to add sour cream (just made a roux with flour (and the butter and 1/2 & 1/2), and also added a can of chopped chilis and 1 tsp chili powder, and salt too it) I used fresh garlic cloves. I doubled the seafood, and meant to quadruple the sauce, but accidentally only doubled the sauce. (which actually follows the recipe.) Then I ended up layering the dish like lasagna instead of rolling up each enchilada....this was super easy and still turned out fine. Tastes way better with condiments and garnishes. Husband though a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This had a good, different taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I have made this for friends and family. Everyone raves about it. I had to make a habit of printing extra recipes to give out. Worth the time and expense!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
When I made this the other night for dinner, I had several different palates to feed; so I had Colby and pepper jack cheeses and a can of diced green chilis to add. The sauce is very rich, but it bakes up very nicely. You may not want to add anything if you are serving it with a spicy side--which I didn't. My crabmeat was fishy, so I was wishing I had only used the shrimp. We felt this was a good recipe but that it needed doctoring. This has all kinds of possibilities, so thanks for the starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I made it for a large family gathering and now I'm 'on the hook' to make it every time we get together! I've read the suggestions and even tried a few, but this recipe is delicious just the way it is. I enjoy the subtle flavors of the creamy, cheesy goodness that surrounds the crab and shrimp. Fresh seafood is expensive and I would rather taste that than a lot of spices. This recipe is also a perfect jumping off point for a spicier dish, if that's what you prefer. Thanks for adding a wonderful new favorite to my seafood menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Selah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States