Seafood Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
GREAT recipe! I tweaked to maximize the ingredients I had on hand. I think the beauty of a great recipe is that it lends itself to tweaking due to ingredients on hand or dietary limitations. Here's the breakdown: 1 lb. shrimp (omitted crab, didn't have any), used shredded mozzarella cheese (didn't have colby), used 1/2 C heavy whipping cream and 1 C 2% milk (didn't have half-and-half) after making a roux with 1/4 C butter and 5 T flour (recommendation from reviews). All else stayed the same although I did season the mixture liberally with salt, I think this is an important step not listed in the original recipe. Even with the tweaking it turned out great. Enjoy! (PS-I'll totally make this for friends!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I followed many of the reviews and doubled the sauce. I added some sauteed green onion to the filling for color. I also doubled the shrimp. Perhaps I am weird, but did not care for the crab (even though I sprang for the good stuff) and next time will make them with just shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Awesome recipe! We used imatation crab, and threw in some pepper jack cheese for a little kick, some cilantro on the top. Followed the advice of making a rue to thicken the sauce was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Wonderful! I played around with it a little bit because I read some reviews on how bland it was. I added a little bit of red enchilada sauce to the cheese sauce. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I loved this recipe! It was simple and a hit with my boyfriend. I did listen to the other people who reviewed it and doubled the batch for the sauce though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great recipe...I'm in love! I made a few modifations but its a good base recipe to play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Loooooooved this dish!!!! I've been searching in vain for a seafood enchilada dish (home-made, or otherwise) that compared to a Mexican restaurant back in my college days, but have fallen short, till now! I did follow many of the modification tips others gave (e.g., making a "roux" with butter/flour, etc), but quite honestly, it made for a lot of extra work, which I'm not sure was really necessary. Next time, I'll follow the recipe to a "t" and compare the results. Thank you for sharing! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Served this and the Tortilla soup to a party of 12. Everyone raved. Will make again. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Found this to be bland, lacked flavor. Family gave it a thumbs down. I was disappointed because it is an expensive dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Made this tonight for the first time, and loved it! Found this recipe when looking for something to do with shrimp and tortillas. I read the reviews carefully and made the following changes: sauteed two cloves of garlic with the onion; used pepper jack, sliced finely; and only used shrimp, because it's all I had. After removing the shrimp and onion/garlic from the pan, I made the sauce in the same pan in order to absorb all of the flavor. I melted the butter first, then added some Wondra flour and whisked until smooth. I then added about a cup of light cream and continued whisking, adding garlic powder, kosher salt, and dried parsley. The sauce thickened more than I wanted, so I thinned it with whole milk. I poured it over the enchiladas, then topped that with the rest of the cheddar jack and one sliced jalapeno. The heat level was just perfect, and my husband couldn't stop raving about it. Thanks for sharing the recipe! I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States