Seafood Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I followed it using most ingredients, all shrimp and scallops, no fish. didn't have any. probably used more tomato than called for, but was still very tasty. I used the exact measurement of the peppers (black, white and cayenne) and i did not think it was too spicy. there is a nice build up of spice after a couple of mouth fulls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is delicious! I didn't measure anything, just eyeballed it. I cleaned out my freezer and used 1 lb each of shrimp, crawfish tails and andouille sausage. Personally I think the best thing about a recipe like this is that you can use almost any combination of chicken, sausage and/or seafood and it always turns out great! Also threw in some okra because that's what the husband likes and served with rice. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars from word of mouth as I don't actually like seafood so I had soup. Those that ate it were very impressed. It was a bit too spicy for my stepdaughter, but since she ate everything I gave her, she still loved it. I made a heck of a lot and there was a lot left over...for about an hour, then the Mr had three big bowls of it and it was gone! I tried to make the recipe as is, but had to substitute cod for haddock and lamb stock instead of chicken (it was what I had) also I added a bit of tomato paste as it was a litle runny. I've been told to make it again 'Or Else' :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Made this and it was very good. Used a seafood melody bought at Trader Joe's and the variation of shrimp, squid, scallops and fish with the creole was perfect. Did not have celery and used cabbage instead and it turned out great. Had to add tomato paste with it to give a stronger taste. Also added mushrooms to it too. Easy and fun to make and look forward to make again. Great recipe that will please those that like seafood and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Absolutely wonderful recipe. Due to kitchen cupboard supplies, I used 16 oz of my home canned tomatoes to replace sauce and tomatoes and did not use the chicken stock due to liquid. Just about perfect 'heat'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I only joined the website to say how great this recipe is! I could eat it every day (and I would too, if only Himself would be happy to do the same). It is also absolutely simple to make--even Himself can do it. The only thing that would make it better (and it's pretty near perfect as it is) would be to use a smidge less stock unless you are planning to make a soup. I found it a bit on the soupy rather than stewy side. Still absolutely yummy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
i added okra to make it heartier....this tastes very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Just made this today for Mother's Day and everyone loved it! I simmered the sauce for about an hour before adding the seafood. So delicious and so EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've been craving the Creole flavor lately and this recipe really hit the spot! I made it exactly as instructed, only I left out the scallops, because they are rather expensive, and the haddock. I used raw shrimp (not the little pink ones!) and some andouille sausage instead, and it's just amazing! Even though I changed out the scallops and haddock portion of the recipe, I can still tell that the base recipe is fantastic, so I'm giving it the full five stars! I couldn't find sweet basil, so I used regular basil instead. I also used a 14 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, which didn't seem to be too much at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Excellent recipe but I improved it by adding a bottle of clam juice. Fresh herbs are nice too! Tried it once with Andouille sausage and that was a nice substitution for the scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States