Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is without a doubt, the best chowder I have ever made. While I didn`t use Calamari, or Clams, I chose to use extra shrimp, crab and scallops. Five of my friends have asked for this recipe, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Amazing! This is by far the best chowder I have ever had, and my family is from Maine! I tweaked it a bit, adding clam juice and omitting corn. This recipe is a hit in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriln

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This was almost too easy to make! It tasted very good - especially considering the little effort required. I might try some tweaking next time for a more seafood-y flavor, maybe substitute clam juice for the water from the can of corn. Thank you - my mom & mother in law both asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Excellent seafood chowder. Tried many different combinations (including replacing calamari with lobster meat). The most popular by far: no carrots, 1.5 pounds bay scallops, 1 pound shrimp ... no other saefood. Popular with everyone, requested often by friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norway, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Very good! I also substituted canned corn for frozen. I used canned clams and poured the juice into the chowder. For seafood, I used fresh sea scallops, fresh haddock, fresh salmon, fresh calamari, frozen pre-cooked shrimp, and canned baby clams. Excellent Recipe. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Excellent flavor for such an easy recipe! Used low fat ingredients in place of non-fat, frozen corn instead of canned, and clam juice for corn water. Heating mushroom soup and cream cheese together first and wisking is a better way to blend. I didn't watch soup carefully enough and it boiled causing the soup to brown on the bottom. This worked to my advantage because the brown flecks disguised the mushrooms which my husband ordinarily won't eat - ha, ha! He asked me to cut the pepper in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was a pretty basic recipe but def. not 'full of flavour'. I added lots of other ingredients to the chowder in order for it to have SOME flavour. I added leeks, chicken stock, celery and even parmesan chesse. Made it better, but the recipe itself was wayy to bland for my taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babydollmisfit
Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I made this for BUNCO night. It was a hit with the ladies. I made a change though. I used 4lbs of shrimp and omitted all the other seafood. It made the chowder more economical because shrimp was on sale ;-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
WOW this was great! I used seafood stock instead of the corn juice! and used a can of oyster soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom! and used a bread bowl to serve it in!! YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Outstanding recipe! After reading various other suggestions, I made a few modest changes. I used frozen corn, added the juice from the clams, further thinned the chowder with additional milk, used more garlic (4 small cloves), traded the parsley with Old Bay, and added a couple extra dashes of cayenne (I like spicy!). Furthermore, I made this recipe on the spur of the moment - so, I only had on hand uncooked frozen shrimp, canned clams and canned crab meat. I was very concerned that the canned seafood would diminish the flavor of the chowder - no need to worry - it was delicious! And even my foodie friends were impressed....they said it beat any restaurant seafood chowder they had eaten! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ladie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States