Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very Delicious. I separated the clams from their juice and included that in the broth beginnings. I halved the carrots, and nixed the squid, but incorporated some more crab and clams to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcableou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I love this chowder and this recipe is a keeper! It's very creamy and hearty even though it is low in fat. The only changes I made is I added a can of oysters with the liquid and left out the calamari. I also added a little bit of curry powder and Old Bay seasoning based on another review. I forgot to add the corn, but we didn't miss it. I'll add it next time but really don't know if it's needed. It's very simple to make and look forwrard to having it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very good recipe but like many of the reviews say, it is still a little bland. I added 2-3 times as much cayenne, 2-3 times as much garlic, along with about a TBSP of Old Bay blackened seasoning and ended up with a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Didn't have all the ingredients but modified it a bit and it was great. Used onions and chives instead of green onions. Used twice as much shrimp and scallops instead of calamari and crab meat. Didn't use as much cream of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alejandra Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Delicious! I made it in the crockpot. I put in everything except the seafood and corn and cooked it until al dente; then added the seafood for the last hour or so. I used 2 ears of fresh corn on the cob because I had it, and we like corn. I didn't have any seafood other than canned clams so I used 3 cans with the juice and it was delicious clam chowder. Entire family loved it! Only problem is no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This Chowder is amazing and easy and versatile. I didn't have any cayenne pepper and I used whatever fish and seafood I had on hand and it was amazing!! I big hit, light and flavorful. I sautéed my onion, carrot and added celery, in butter and garlic before adding the cream cheese and milk. I think this gave it a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Great recipe and very easy to prepare. I omitted the corn and added clam juice. I also added 1/2 tsp of Old Bay. The next time, I will also cut the amount of black pepper in half. My family loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Great and easy recipe base! I added way more meats and potatoes though. I ended up using a pound of shrimp, 5 cans of whole/chopped cans, and more veggies in order to make this a very filling and hearty meal. I left out the calamari, scallops and crabmeat since they cost more than I felt would add to the recipe. My wife and roomate loved it. Would be five stars however, I adjusted the recipe not warranting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Loved it! Made a double batch - 1 with neufchatel cheese and the other with low fat cream cheese. My decision to make this came when I was cleaning my freezer out and found 2 lbs of sea scallops. Unfortunately the scallops were bad so I substituted 2 lbs shrimp, 1 lb crabmeat and a 51 oz Costco container of chopped clams. I divided all seafood among both batches. I also used the clam juice from the can...divided. It made the chowder a bit thinner, which also extended the servings. I ended up simmering the soup mixture close to one hour (before adding the seafood) because my husband was running late for dinner and I didn't want to overcook the seafood. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Excellent recipe! I did some changes with what I had at home, for instance, instead of milk, I heated water and added coffee creamer, which made it rich (in lieu of milk, cream cheese and mushroom soup). I added canned salmon, fresh squid and grouper and shrimp. Also white flour as a thickener. This recipe was my foundation and inspiration.. Thanks for providing it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States