Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I have made this recipe many times and it is great. Trader Joe's Frozen Seafood Blend is an easy alternative to all the different seafood needed. I use it with a pound of Shrimp and it is perfect! My only comment is that the simmer time for the vegetables is much too short to get them tender..it is closer to an hour before you can add the shrimp and other seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Just made this. Great December spup. I added bacon and I am pleased to say it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Absolutely amazing. Easy to make and simple to adjust because the base soup itself is delicious. I've made this several times and have altered the ingredients based on the availability of seafood or veggies. The fat-free milk, cream cheese and soup along with the garlic offers a great base to add and subtract other items. My last batch I made I forgot the carrots and since I wanted to add color I added a can of chopped tomatoes in there and added a couple of spices to ease the additional flavor and BAM - great new variant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Made this for family and friends and everyone loved it. My in-laws are from Maine and said it was the best chowder they have ever had. I did make two substitions 1) replaced the calamari tubes with crawfish tail meat and used 2 pounds of shrimp instead of the scallops. 2) in place of the pepper and cayenne I used "Old Bay".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good, but needed modifications. I add much more milk as it seemed overly thick, I used skim milk and no fat 1/2 and 1/2 which made it much creamier. Also added roasted garlic (whole head), 2 cans of corn, extra potato's and carrots, shallots and instead of all the seafood I used 2 lbs of fresh carolina shrimp and two cans of clams. Next time I will add more clams and the juice with the clams. Very easy but you really need to watch it so it doesnt boil. Husband and picky 13 yr old son ate it up. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I usually avoid recipes that involve condensed cream soups, but I made this tonight and I'm glad I did. My family loved it. My only changes were in substituting seafood that was available today in the fish market rather than using specifically what the recipe called for, and leaving out the clams. This chowder served with some sourdough bread and a salad was a tasty and filling meal. The cayenne gives the soup a little bit of a kick, so anyone sensitive to spicy dishes might want to back off on that quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busybee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I made this for my family and they loved it. However, I did leave out the carrots and potatoes (only because I was making it for my 8 and 11 year old and they didn't want that it there). I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great recipe! Used only shrimp, crab, and scallops with adding a little turkey bacon for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States