Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The plus for this recipe, is its lower fat. But as stated, it really didn't have much depth of flavor. I agree with another reviewer, it tasted mostly of canned soup. After adding 1/2 c sherry,finely chopped white onion, celery, chicken bouillion granules,clam juice, nutmeg, saute'ed mushrooms, and some (leftover) asparagas, it was 5 star worthy. Also, it was spicy (not too much)for our taste, using 1/2 the cayenne. IF, I make again, it would be only with additions, still half the cayenne, and cooking the veggies before adding milk...it took way too long to get veggies soft, standing & stirring often, so not to boil the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Awesome chowder!!! Thank you so much for the recipe! I did change it slightly. I sautéed the green onions, potatoes, and garlic before adding them to the milk and cream cheese mixture. I left out the corn and carrots (preference). I added Old Bay Seasoning, and cut back on the Cayenne because of that (did 50/50 of each). I only used the Shrimp, Scallops, Crab Meat, and 1 Can of Clams with the Clam juice. Awesome!! Will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Delicious. It is the best seafood chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Yum, we loved it. I didn't use fat free, I used whole flavor foods and added about a 1/2 tsp of salt. We really enjoyed this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I used white fish and shrimp and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Calhoun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great recipe. I made some changes: I put chopped mini red potatoes with skins left on and diced carrots and onions in a pot that I had just fried small pieces of bacon. I drained the bacon fat and removed the bacon pieces and set aside. I added four tablespoons of sherry and steamed the veggies in it. When the veggies were a bit cooked, but still quite firm, I added a can of low sodium New England clam chowder and two tablespoons of light cream cheese. Meanwhile, in a frying pan, I put three tablespoons of butter and cooked on low heat haddock, previously frozen jumbo shrimp, salmon, and a bit of lobster and scallops. Cooking the seafood a bit in butter exaggerates the seafood flavour. I added 1% milk to the large pot and added chopped dill, parsley, the cayenne and my secret ingredient that a chef told me about: Pernod. Just a capful. Incredible. Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder - delicious. Note: no corn was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Quick dinner and a perfect base for a great chowder, you can adjust to your taste. I made it as specified except for the carrots and shrimp (husband forgot them at the store). We loved it. Now to adjust for our taste to make it even better I will add smoked salmon. Just to add a little more flavor. But no complaints. I had this dinner done in 45 minutes with lots of relaxing time. That is my kind of dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Clinton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Absolutely love this. My boyfriend has never liked a chowder in his life but now has me making this once a month. We substitute lobster instead of calamari and it's delicious. We also add the clam juice along with the water from the corn because otherwise it's a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing!!!! I only used shrimp and canned crab but the taste and texture was amazing. I didn't use any carrots and even used canned diced potatoes to reduce time because I was in a hurry. Will do again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this recipe three times now. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States