Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
It was so delicious def making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made this chowder very similar to the original recipe. I didn't have skim milk so I used evaporated. I think it helps to keep the soup base from separating. I also slowly heated up the milk, cream cheese and cream of mushroom and then mixed it smooth. The potatoes took a lot longer to cook (as they were simmering, not boiling). I would par-cook these in the future. I used crab, clams, baby shrimp and salmon. Excellent flavor with the addition of some Old Bay and extra cayenne. The corn gave it a little extra sweetness, which was nice. I am excited for the leftovers and I will make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Made this with shrimp, razor clams, crab and octopus because that's what I had on hand, and subbed celery for carrots. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. I accidentally threw in the whole cup and a half of milk with the cream cheese but it didn't seem to affect the outcome at all. The chowder was even good the next day for lunch. Thank you for this recipe. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I just made this for the first time, and can't wait to serve it to my family and friends. I used canned clams with the juice, canned crab, fresh shrimp, calamari and scallops. I chopped the veggies really tiny and left out the corn as my husband cannot eat it. I had been looking for an easy seafood chowder recipe and will look no further. I already pinned it in pinterest! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOBILITY61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mount Kisco, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I read many of the comments and added one package of 1/3rd less fat cream cheese by melting it in the pan used to brown the bacon and onions. After removing the bacon and onions, I added 1 cup of the chicken stock with the cream cheese on medium high stirring constantly until the cream cheese had melted into the chicken stock. Then I combined all of the ingredients into the crockpot adding two table spoons of Old Bay seasoning. I also dissolved 1.5 table spoons of corn starch in a 1/4 cup of water and added it when I added the condensed milk at the end. The cream cheese and corn starch combined added a little thickness and now this recipe has both bacon and cream cheese, simply outstanding flavor and consistency. My family has a new favorite fish chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
SO DELICIOUS! I added celery & bacon to the veggied, used a can of cream corn, and used only shrimp n scallops. THE BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianna Mish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Best chowder recipe I've ever made! I had to use food on hand, so 15oz can each of cr of mush and cr of celery soups. I also only had shrimp and crab, so doubled those amounts. Next time, I hope to have scallops and calamari to add! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
excellent, but modified using available ingredients...heavy cream, cream of chicken, milk, water, garlic, fresh parsley, potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, cream style corn, salt, shrimp and clam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My Dad loves seafood chowder, so this recipe has become a staple in our house. I double the recipe, and following some of the other reviewers, I use frozen corn instead of canned, use extra garlic, and use all the juice from the canned clams. I also add ~3 tbsp fish sauce (for a double recipe) and paprika and garlic salt to taste. I use whatever seafood I have/what's on sale, but today's batch was particularly good: 2 cups thawed scallops, halved, 4 small haddock fillets, cubed, 1 can salmon, 1 can crab, 1 large can baby clams. Some shrimp would have been good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I love this recipe. Used fresh corn, boiled the shrimp shells and used broth to thin instead of corn liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States