Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I made a few seafood changes, but this was the most amazing lower fat chowder. I have ever made. I used shrimp, clams, mahi mahi, and bay scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Being a native New Englander, I know chowdah, and chowder has bacon! So I started this recipe with frying the bacon, then I sauteed the onions and raw vegetables in the grease. Continued with the recipe from there and tasted it after it was complete. Decided it needed a little more seasoning, and less cayenne pepper, fortunately I only put 1/4 tsp to begin with, but could use a touch less. Bay Seasoning makes this chowder awesome! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I cooked this last night. I used a marinara mix which included prawns, fish ( white & salmon pieces) & calamari, instead of the suggested seafood. It was very hearty. Allow, for more than 25 mins for the veges to cook. I used full cream milk & regular cream cheese, not low fat but it was not too rich. I would say if you're after a hearty meal, this quantity is more suitable for 4-5 people or if it's just as an entrée, it would serve 8. Overall, everyone was very happy with the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is a keeper! Changed up seafood... no clams but a mix of salmon, haddock, scallops, shrimp and crab flavored pollock... very colorful! Used wild mushroom soup. It was delicious! Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very good!! I did add the clam juice, little mrs dash, and a little old bay for a kick. Super good and got a lot of raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
AMAZING! Everyone that tried it loved it. My cousin said it's 'award winning'..and we are from Boston so we know chowdah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Made a double batch and substituted lobster for calamari. I also used 2 cups of frozen corn instead of the canned corn and added another 3/4 cup of milk (3 3/4 total milk for double batch). The doubled amount filled our large crock pot for our Friday night Church Lenten Soup. It was a hit! The cream cheese, green onions and fresh minced garlic are the star of the base! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan in MI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I had bought some frozen calamari tubes and legs and came across this recipe to use it up. Worked great! I used tiny frozen shrimp and the fake Krab. Didn't have clams or scallops. I did add a little more carrots and potatoes as well as celery and regular onion. (Next time I will sautee' the veggies as they took so long to cook and I kept sneaking bites!) Didn't have the "26 oz cr of mushroom soup" so had to use 3-10 oz of Cr of Chicken, Cr of celery and Cr of mushroom- taste is fine- besides, that's what was in the cupboard. I LIKE spicy food but think I will halve the cayenne the next time. It's that after taste spicy that sticks with ya. Great flavor, waiting here for it to cool down so I can eat. Made cornbread w/ our fave- honey on top. Used 2% milk too and reg cream chz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
My family really enjoyed this soup. I will definitely make it again. I left out the calamari because I didn't have any. Next time I will add celery, leave out the cayenne pepper, and put a meaty white fish or salmon in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Yum, very easy and tasty. I only used calamari and substituted salmon for the rest of the fish.. I had some in the freezer. I also added a little extra cayenne. I'm glad we have leftovers for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States