Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. Was incredible! I reduced the recipe to do 2 servings and prepared the dish in two 12 oz Au Gratin bowls. Came out perfect! It reminded me of an entree at a favorite seafood restaurant in Richmond VA. Might try using a dry cooking sherry next time to mimic the restaurant's dish. So glad I found this on Allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WNC Chip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I halved this recipe. The only change I made was that I used fresh mushrooms that I sauteed before adding to the sauce. This was VERY tasty but it did come out "watery". Watery isn't a really good word for it because the juice was very good it was just not that appealing to the eye. My husband suggested that I put a small amount of rice on the bottom of the bowl next time and I immediately thought no but the more I ate of it, the more it sounded like it might be good so I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made a lot of changes and am rating for what was created thereby so it will show me in the future one of my top rated recipes. Here's how it came out: cut it in half, as there were just two of us; couldn't find scallops, so excluded them but did not increase the other seafoods. Used 4 baby bellas for the mushrooms and sautéed them with 4 green onions and 2 garlic cloves in butter for about 30 minutes. Had large frozen shrimp and thawed and dried with paper towels before adding them to the sautéed mix and continuing to sauté an additional 3 minutes before adding the crabmeat and removing from heat. Melted 3 tablespoons of butter and added 2 tablespoons of flour before adding a cup of heavy cream (in place of broth) and left out the wine. Put seafood mix in a buttered casserole, covered with the cream sauce and topped with freshly grated provolone then roma cheeses. Put all this together early in the day and refrigerated until dinner time. Removed from fridge while oven heated and cooked 15 minutes. Absolutely one of the best dishes we've enjoyed. A side of oven roasted asparagus went very well with this. Thanks for sharing and giving me the courage to try this yummy dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
First time I had a Seafood Au Gratin was at a place in Nag's Head, North Carolina, named Bad Barracuda's in 2003. This is a great recipe, only negative is the cost of the ingredients. The good thing is my wife and I ate on it for 4 or 5 meals, so it works out in the end. Cook it and enjoy it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Excellent!! Trying to make this on the cheap, I chose from the seafood section of the local supermarket cajun seasoned pre-boiled shrimp, crawfish tails and imitation Krab, then sauteed all together in olive oil and a little crushed garlic. I then substituted Asiago for the Provolone. I found the sauce a little too watery so I thicken it with a little corn starch. It came out real good, but upon reheating some the next day, the flavors had a chance to meld and WOW!!! much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My family really loved this recipe. The flavors were really good and nicely blended. They kept commenting on how addictive this recipe was and there wasn't any leftovers! I used 2 pie plates for this recipe and covered the top of each with provolone and asiago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
What I did right:I used fresh mushrooms that I sauteed with butter and garlic before adding them to the sauce. I also completely omitted the wine and used the shells from the shrimp to make a stock that I used in place of the chicken broth. Oh, I also used Mozzerella cheese instead of Provolone. What I did wrong: I used canned crab meat. NEVER again will I make THAT mistake. I also did not properly drain the scallops or shimp before cooking, so the cassrole came out kinda watery. I think if I make those adjustments next time, I can give this recipe a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HNYKSS
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Used this as a good base for my version as I kind of combined this with another recipe. One I used the chicken broth to boil the shrimp for three minutes just until pink. Then I cooked the scallops in the same liquid 1-2 minutes. I added old bay, 2 celery stalks and a bay leave to the chicken broth. I'm on a low carb diet so I didn't use flour instead used to egg yolks and 1c light cream. In the butter I sauteed the shallots, fresh baby portabello, celery, and garlic for 5 minutes until soft. I then added 2c of the (now) seafood broth to the vegetables with the cream and egg yolk. Instead of white wine I used Dry Sherry 1/4c. I also added lemon! I know I changed a bit but it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNYKSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is simple and amazing. I added freshly ground nutmeg and ground mustard. I left out the mushrooms as a courtesy to my bf and I didn't miss them. Served in individual ramekins with some french bread and some garlic green beans. I can't wait to have this again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! Everyone simply loved it. Be sure to use fresh seafood. I substituted a 1/4 cup diced onion for shallots and added 2 tablespoons of finely chopped green pepper & used Monterey Jack instead of provolone. It certainly makes enough for a party! Next time I will cut the recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States