Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
I was hesitant to make this after reading the first review- but I'm glad I did! I always order this dish in seafood restaurants and this recipe tastes even better than most I've ordered. I wouldn't change the sauce at all. My family loved it and I plan to make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Very good. Husband really enjoyed the topping - I substituted monterey jack as I did not have any provolone on hand. Also used frozen scallops and shrimp, omitted the wine, and used fresh mushrooms (which I sauteed in butter before adding to sauce). Substituted minced onion and garlic (2 to 1) for shallots as I did not have those either. Also used low-sodium chicken broth to reduce sodium content(fresh mushrooms also reduced the sodium content) Will make it next time as per recipe (except for the lower sodium options) - should be even better without all the substitutions and omissions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I thought this was excellent. I had to scale the recipes down to just two servings, so a few minor adjustments were needed. I tested the sauce before pouring over the seafood and found I needed to add a bit of water as it was too salty for my taste. I also had to add more flour due to the added water. I used 1/4 teaspoon of cajun seafood seasoning and mozzerella cheese. It was great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Excellent! I substituted Swiss cheese for the Provolone and it was great. Next time I will use fresh mushrooms though....just a personal taste. My husband and I both loved it. A keeper! Marianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was very good. I didn't have provolone, so I used cheddar and mozzarella. I used frozen seafood and it made it a little too watery. Next time I will cut down on the broth to make up for it. I served it with risotto with peas and mushrooms. They were perfect together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brook Trout
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made this for 1, as my bf isnt a huge fan of seafood~ So I followed step 1 and too(but w less oil), for step 3 I used 1 teaspoon of butter, a 1/2 cup of heavy cream, and a splash of white wine and 1/2 tble sp of flour, followed step 4, I used swiss chesse-I cooked for 15 mins, did not golden but was amazing! :) ~ I did not use mushrooms or shallots as I did not have them on hand and no chicken broth ** 07/06/11 - update, I tried w/o wine and used butter, heavy cream, parm cheese, and season w/salt /fresh pepper/and some garlic salt, I also fry my shrimp and scallops for about 1.5 mins then bake for about 9, fully cooked and scallops not rubbery! Still Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook Trout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Better than any I've eaten in any restaurant. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVERLY_KAYE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
I really wanted this recipe to be good - it sure cost enough for the ingredients. There was not enough sauce for the immense amount of seafood called for in this recipe - which was way too much in my opinion. The sauce also didn't have enough flavor to enhance the seafood. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is simple and amazing. I added freshly ground nutmeg and ground mustard. I left out the mushrooms as a courtesy to my bf and I didn't miss them. Served in individual ramekins with some french bread and some garlic green beans. I can't wait to have this again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this last week for Sunday dinner and my husband can't wait to have it again. He calls it "loving in a bowl" . I cheated and used imitation crab and frozen smaller scallops and shrimp , to keep the price down. I mixed cheddar and mozzarella cheese since I didn't have provolone. Turned out great. Even my mom who is not a seafood eater loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States