Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I used the basics of this recipe to make an awsome etoufee, when sauted seafood was just 1 min. in, I added lemon zest, just before I served it, I added cut grape tomatoes, let simmer, added extra parm and served on lunguine. Thank you for the basic that can be used so many ways, next time I'll bake it, I know it will be soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made it without shrimp (I'm allergic) for Xmas dinner, but you wouldn't have known anything was missing. It's very rich and oh so good - will definitely make again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was very good. I didn't have provolone, so I used cheddar and mozzarella. I used frozen seafood and it made it a little too watery. Next time I will cut down on the broth to make up for it. I served it with risotto with peas and mushrooms. They were perfect together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Ceschini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This was very good and easier to make than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Loved it! No leftovers! I added sauted portobello mushrooms in wine. Will be passing this on to friends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I thought this was excellent. I had to scale the recipes down to just two servings, so a few minor adjustments were needed. I tested the sauce before pouring over the seafood and found I needed to add a bit of water as it was too salty for my taste. I also had to add more flour due to the added water. I used 1/4 teaspoon of cajun seafood seasoning and mozzerella cheese. It was great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I agree with the first review. This was way too seafoody and salty. Not enough ingredients other than seafood to complement the seafood flavor. It was edible and I finished it but my kids didn't like it. One thing to remember is to buy as much stuff pre-done as possible or do it in advance (shelling crab and shrimp, deveining, etc.) Prep was very time-consuming. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Very good. Husband really enjoyed the topping - I substituted monterey jack as I did not have any provolone on hand. Also used frozen scallops and shrimp, omitted the wine, and used fresh mushrooms (which I sauteed in butter before adding to sauce). Substituted minced onion and garlic (2 to 1) for shallots as I did not have those either. Also used low-sodium chicken broth to reduce sodium content(fresh mushrooms also reduced the sodium content) Will make it next time as per recipe (except for the lower sodium options) - should be even better without all the substitutions and omissions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Excellent! I substituted Swiss cheese for the Provolone and it was great. Next time I will use fresh mushrooms though....just a personal taste. My husband and I both loved it. A keeper! Marianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Better than any I've eaten in any restaurant. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVERLY_KAYE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States