Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This was very good and easier to make than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Loved it! No leftovers! I added sauted portobello mushrooms in wine. Will be passing this on to friends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I thought this was excellent. I had to scale the recipes down to just two servings, so a few minor adjustments were needed. I tested the sauce before pouring over the seafood and found I needed to add a bit of water as it was too salty for my taste. I also had to add more flour due to the added water. I used 1/4 teaspoon of cajun seafood seasoning and mozzerella cheese. It was great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I agree with the first review. This was way too seafoody and salty. Not enough ingredients other than seafood to complement the seafood flavor. It was edible and I finished it but my kids didn't like it. One thing to remember is to buy as much stuff pre-done as possible or do it in advance (shelling crab and shrimp, deveining, etc.) Prep was very time-consuming. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Very good. Husband really enjoyed the topping - I substituted monterey jack as I did not have any provolone on hand. Also used frozen scallops and shrimp, omitted the wine, and used fresh mushrooms (which I sauteed in butter before adding to sauce). Substituted minced onion and garlic (2 to 1) for shallots as I did not have those either. Also used low-sodium chicken broth to reduce sodium content(fresh mushrooms also reduced the sodium content) Will make it next time as per recipe (except for the lower sodium options) - should be even better without all the substitutions and omissions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Excellent! I substituted Swiss cheese for the Provolone and it was great. Next time I will use fresh mushrooms though....just a personal taste. My husband and I both loved it. A keeper! Marianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Better than any I've eaten in any restaurant. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
I was hesitant to make this after reading the first review- but I'm glad I did! I always order this dish in seafood restaurants and this recipe tastes even better than most I've ordered. I wouldn't change the sauce at all. My family loved it and I plan to make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
I really wanted this recipe to be good - it sure cost enough for the ingredients. There was not enough sauce for the immense amount of seafood called for in this recipe - which was way too much in my opinion. The sauce also didn't have enough flavor to enhance the seafood. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States