Seafood Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this last week for Sunday dinner and my husband can't wait to have it again. He calls it "loving in a bowl" . I cheated and used imitation crab and frozen smaller scallops and shrimp , to keep the price down. I mixed cheddar and mozzarella cheese since I didn't have provolone. Turned out great. Even my mom who is not a seafood eater loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brook Trout
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made this for 1, as my bf isnt a huge fan of seafood~ So I followed step 1 and too(but w less oil), for step 3 I used 1 teaspoon of butter, a 1/2 cup of heavy cream, and a splash of white wine and 1/2 tble sp of flour, followed step 4, I used swiss chesse-I cooked for 15 mins, did not golden but was amazing! :) ~ I did not use mushrooms or shallots as I did not have them on hand and no chicken broth ** 07/06/11 - update, I tried w/o wine and used butter, heavy cream, parm cheese, and season w/salt /fresh pepper/and some garlic salt, I also fry my shrimp and scallops for about 1.5 mins then bake for about 9, fully cooked and scallops not rubbery! Still Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook Trout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wow, this was excellent! It was my first time trying a seafood au gratin recipe and I'm so glad I did. Like most home cooks, I kinda changed the ingredients a bit. I didn't have any crab meat or mushrooms, so I left both out. I added minced garlic to the sauce as well as diced pimiento peppers for a bit of color, also added a couple pinches of oregano, herbs de provence, and dried chives. I seasoned the shrimp and bay scallops with cracked black pepper and Old Bay seasoning. I used a Pinot Grigio for the wine because it's what I had on hand, and used an Italian six cheese blend (shredded) for the cheese topping. My guest and I both had 2nd helpings. I'll definitely make this again, thank you Jeli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I was forced to substitute several ingredients because I didn't plan ahead. I substituted minced clams for crabmeat, 1/4 cup marsala cooking wine for white wine and cheddar + american cheese instead of parm and provolone. It all worked out fine with these substitutions...although the crabmeat would have created a better texture without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stress free chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Simply fabulous. I made the recipe as is and was wowed by it. I plan to pour it over angel hair pasta the next time I make it and I will make it again. Very nice for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Can't say enough about this one! Great!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Holtsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this and it was awesome. I usually order it at my favorite restaurant, now I can make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Perhaps my new favorite dish. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by streuli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I used the basics of this recipe to make an awsome etoufee, when sauted seafood was just 1 min. in, I added lemon zest, just before I served it, I added cut grape tomatoes, let simmer, added extra parm and served on lunguine. Thank you for the basic that can be used so many ways, next time I'll bake it, I know it will be soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made it without shrimp (I'm allergic) for Xmas dinner, but you wouldn't have known anything was missing. It's very rich and oh so good - will definitely make again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States