Seafood And Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
OUTSTANDING! For an added affect, I carved out a large leafy cabbage, placed in ice water the night before, and used the cabbage as a "bowl." WOW!...'lots of compliments for the presentation and flavor! A year later after I first brought this salad to a potluck, I continue to have complete strangers email me for the recipe! I followed the suggestion of adding celery, green onion, and 1.5 pounds of shrimp while using lump crab (higher quality canned crab meat). For added flavor, I used my recipe for boiled shrimp. That is, 2 quarts of water 1 quartered lemon 1 large quartered onion 1 entire head of peeled garlic 1 tbl of pickling spice (Do NOT use Old Bay Seasoning!) 1.5 pounds peeled, devined shrimp (remove tails prior to boiling) Bring all ingredients except shrimp to a rolling boil. Add shrimp and bring to second rolling boil. Remove and rinse shrimp under cold water. Add cold shrimp to salad. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Professor VanGogh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made this recipe with Alaskan king crab and spot shrimp. Wonderfully paired with a homemade french onion soup for a great healthy meal. This one goes into the recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I made this with some fresh tuna I needed to use up instead of crab (though that sounds divine, too). Added some red onion and wasabi to the dressing. Didn't have red cabbage, so I used more of the green. This is just excellent, and low cal! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Really good! I used Rice vinegar instead of lemon juice, because that's what I had. Yummy! I plan on making this often, as I love cabbage and this is a really good cabbage salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This recipe was very good. I used all red cabbage (b/c that's what I had on hand) and it turned the dressing pink - so I wouldn't do that again if I were to serve this to guests. I will also try and reduce the sugar next time since I found the dressing a bit too sweet. I also added green onion and celery as per other readers' suggestions, and I think it really improved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I made this tonight and served this delicious crab salad on Keebler "Toasteds" variety crackers. We enjoyed Chicken vegetable soup and a glass of milk on the side. I added thinly sliced celery to the recipe. I will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Very delicious! I only used one red pepper (per other reviews). Also added red onion chopped very fine. We ate this wrapped in tortillas. Man...so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
a very good and different salad. I didn't have broccoli so I didn't use it, but added carrots for some more color. I think you could add or take aways anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I must have done something wrong. The peppers overwhelmed the flavor for me and the dressing was too sweet. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Oh my goodness!!! This salad is one to place in the family files!!!! I am a "little bit if this, little bit of that," kind of cook, and I have to say that I used broccoli-slaw in place of the cabbage and the results were fabulous!!! I understand why this was such a hit at the submitter's restaurant! Thanks for sharing and I plan to check out other recipes from this person and share this dish with all of my friends! Bueno!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States