Sea Salt Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
YUMMY!!! I'm not a big sweet eater but I bet these are very yummy warm out of the oven. Something about salty sweet that I just love! I'm going to try these tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe to a tee with the exception of all I had on hand was a box of brownie mix for a 9 x 13 pan. I followed the brownie mix recipe, then the rest of the above recipe. Before 28 minutes was up, the edges were crispy and the middle very soft. Once they cooled imagine our surprise when we cut into the brownies and tried to get them out of the pan and discovered all the caramel had sunk to the bottom! They were as mess to get out and had to scrape the caramel off the bottom of the pan to get any. They were not done enough in the middle but too done on the outside. Once was enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Delicious and decadent. I followed the recipe except for adding 1/2 tsp of espresso powder which I think always improves boxed brownie mixes. This is better slightly warm as the caramel gets very sticky when completely cool. The addition of coarse salt is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I love brownies, caramel and salt but the caramel was a very tough chewy consistency which was disappointing. I'm wondering if the caramels needed cream to improve the consistency? Even served warm the caramel was annoying to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
These brownies were polished off in a few minutes at a tailgate! I swirled the caramel sauce a bit as "drizzling" it seemed ineffective. The only changes I made were to the box brownies (I use coffee instead of water and add a few T. unsweetened cocoa), as I think it brings out the chocolate flavor more deeply. I highly recommend swirling the caramel sauce and sprinkled salt into your next batch of brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
YUMMMMM!!! These brownies are so incredible that I actualy prefer them over regular brownies. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly so I don't know why people had issues. My only guess is make sure you do not overheat your caramel (should be able to easily stur and pour it when its ready). DO NOT forget to add the milk to your caramels. This makes it much creamier, easier to handel and will make it an easier consistency to eat. Also, make sure your brownie batter is already spread in your pan, and then lightly drizzle the caramel sauce on top (do not mix in, or pour in before the batter is in your pan). These make an incredibly impressive dessert that looks like you slaved over them for hours. Nobody would ever guess its just a spruced-up box mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This recipe is so delicious! The only thing I changed was that I used around 2 TBS of heavy cream instead of milk and I melted it together with the caramels on the stovetop instead of the microwave. Our caramel is not too chewy. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPFielding
Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Made this the other day , using the recipe for Best Brownies ( found on this site ) , instead of a boxed mix . Sprinkled less salt on top than called for . Easy to do , and tasted good . I would make this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These are kind of weird......If you don't eat them hot, they could crack your teeth. The thing I didn't like, is after microwaving the caramel, it doesn't just smoothly pour on. It is clumpy and blobs on the brownies. There is no uniformity to how it pours on. They tasted good, but the lumpy, hard caramel was kind of hard to eat. The saving grace was the salted caramel. The flavors were good, but it doesn't quite work. One reviewer suggested melting the caramel with cream, that would be better, I think. Also, after melting the caramel, the bowl was soooo hard to wash. If you run into that problem, pour some boiling water in the bowl to get the hard caramel off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Loved it. Staff party at work are every crumb within minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chocolate and Sea Salt Crostini

See how to make a savory chocolate crostini appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States