Sea Salt Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This recipe is so wonderful (and easy!) to make! I took a pan to a neighbor's supper club, and the compliments poured in! I did not microwave the caramel sauce as instructed, but used the stovetop- which works better for me. I was fortunate enough to use an exceptional brownie mix the first time! Definitely a *make again* dessert... I will whip up a pan of these for any occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made these with heavy cream, and fudgy recipe brownie mix...really, really, really good!!!! Brought some to work, everyone thought it was a complicated dessert to make, haha! The caramel sauce will harden if you take too long spreading it, but all I did was add a little more cream, a few more seconds in the microwave, and it was all good again. I made two batches, one in a square pyrex dish, and one in a disposable aluminum pan. The pyrex brownies came out fudgier, and I think the caramel sauce needed to have a thicker layer. The thinner aluminum pan had the brownies less fudgy, so I think next time I will use the pyrex pan, and not make the brownies too thick. This way there is an even brownie-to-caramel-sea-salt ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I used a 13x9 brownie mix cause that what I had in he pantry. Was worried about the caramel sauce sinking as others had said so I poured half the brownie mix in the pan and baked for 10 minutes. Let it cool a few minutes before pouring the caramel sauce on and topped with the remaining brownie batter. I also used sweetened condensed milk and half a stick of butter with a whole bag of caramels melted and mixed together. Have used this sauce in other desserts and it doesn't harden when cool. Brownies were a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The recipe is delicious, but I had to bake them much longer than the box said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Well I did this all wrong and even dropped the pan when removing from the oven. They slid to one end so I had to spread it back out across the pan. I lost a little to the floor. What was left was still delicious. Maybe mixing them up after baking is the key!! Now getting it off the floor was a different story!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolateflowers
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is a very good recipe and everyone in my family loves these. I think the recipe should be more specific about the milk. To solve the caramel issue, use HEAVY CREAM to melt the caramels into sauce. If you don't have cream, use WHOLE MILK (2% or less fat milk has TOO MUCH water that will just cook away during baking, making the caramels hard and chewy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This looked better in the picture. I baked the batter for about 10 min first to prevent the caramel from sinking to the bottom. The idea worked, but the top of the caramel got a bit burnt (making the brownie look unappetizing), and the rest of the caramel that was absorbed into the brownie was just very gooey. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
GREAT - with a little adjustment! Made 2 batches. First had the problem with caramel sinking and getting way too chewy on the bottom but crumbly on top. To correct the problem, we baked the brownie mix alone for 5 minutes, removed from oven and added the caramel, and then continued to bake for the rest of the time. They were perfect! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe is ok. I followed the directions and microwaved the caramels and they melted nicely with some milk. To prevent the caramel from sticking I sprayed the bowl with a small amount if cooking spray. Worked like a charm. Overall to sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Before I made this, I read a review of it that said the caramel sinks and sticks to the bottom of the pan, and I figured that person must have done it wrong. But then I made this recipe exactly as described, and the caramel did stick to the bottom, making the brownies impossible to get out in one piece, and leaving me with a pan almost impossible to clean. The caramel that did manage to stay inside the brownies is hard and candied, not gooey like I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States