Sea Foam Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Looked lovely in the pan, fluffy peaks, silky smooth -- dumped on cake & it went flat and lumpy. Hideous. Did not use a double boiler--could that be the mistake? Should I cool it before applying it to cake? Did I cook it too fast?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Good, simple recipe. If your frosting isn't whipping up, it probably means your bowl has a trace of fat in it or you got some of the egg yolk in it. Fortunately, this wasn't the case for me, and it whipped up nicely. The only thing was that I think there's almost too much vanilla in this. I might reduce it to 3/4 tsp and see if it's better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. I use it every year for my sister's birthday as she loves Banana cake with pineapple filling and this frosting. It's good on spice, type cakes of all kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
OK, having made similar recipes and LOVING that yummy sea foam goodness, I wanted to respond to those reviewers who said that they couldn't get peaks to form. VERY IMPORTANT: there can be NO fatty residue on any of your equipment, and not even a SPECK of yolk in your egg whites, or peaks won't form. The whites just won't fluff up is there is any fat whatsoever! And it's surprising how little fat it takes to ruin your meringue. So...be careful, wash your utensils (even if they're already clean) before you make this. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I liked this, however I used it for a different purpose than to frost a cake. I used it to top the strawberries in a strawberry shortcake. I thought it worked out very well on this type of dessert. Thnx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Frosting came out fine, "gooey" as expected. The taste is very mild, about what you'd expect from sugar and egg whites, with a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This was almost a complete disaster. It did not whip up or form peaks one bit. Eventually on the second try I added some confectioner's sugar and a handful of flour, whipped it again, and used it as a glaze for spice cookies. It worked really well for that purpose, so I'll give it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States