Sea Bass Cuban Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made...and I cook 6 nights a week. I can't stress how perfect it is to any reader, but truly I never follow a recipe 100% and I made NO changes to this one. I even measured most things (which I never do) and it was PERFECT. I added extra crushed red pepper because we like spice and the recipe calls for just enough for one to taste the flavor of the red pepper, but not enough for a kick. I would recommend using unsalted butter at the end, since the capers and the olives provide plenty of salt to the recipe. I also added whatever fresh veggies I had in my garden. Thank you for this perfect recipe. I have not found a better recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nskiddo21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Silver Strand, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My first instinct after reading through the recipe was that this seemed like a heck of a lot of sauce for just a few filets--it was. Half the amount would have been more than enough. I stuck to the recipe exactly, and hubby and I were both very pleased. The simmering brings all the flavors together nicely. I actually liked the sauce better than the fish (I did use sea bass), as I didn't particularly care for the filets poached. Were I to make this again I would pan roast the filets--I missed that beautiful golden color and semi-crispy exterior. I served this over a bed of Saffron Rice,accompanied with Cuban Black Beans I and Jicama Salad with Cilantro and Lime, all recipes from this site. A pretty, delicious and interesting Cuban style dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
This recipe was great! I used tilapia instead of sea bass and I omitted the olives and doubled the garlic and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This dish belongs on the menu at America's (very nice resturaunt here in Houston). Sea bass is expensive, but I can't imagine this dish being as good with any other fish. Follow this recipe as written, and you will be overwhelmingly happy with it. I didn't have wine, so I substituted vermouth, but no doubt it is just as good if not better with the wine. I served with white rice, black beans, and fried plantains - cuban style! This is one of, if not the best, recipes I have ever made. I can't wait to show off with it. :) Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Not difficult to make and the flavors meld to develop a different and satisfying alternative to traditional grilling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lake Norman Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I am with the majority of the others - BEST FISH RECIPE EVER - AT HOME OR ANY RESTAURANT!!! I am going to share this with my local fish store guy!!! If I could give this dish a 10 I would! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wada Mann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Good recipe. We enjoyed it and will make again. Next time I'll add the capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
We all enjoyed this recipe. I used trout and canned tomatoes because that's what I had on hand, skipped the capers (don't like them) but otherwise held to the recipe. It was really nice and the kids loved the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
thank you! thank you! thank you! this has to be the best recipe i have made yet from this website. i knew it would be good because i liked all of the ingredients...buti didn't realize how easy, quick and delicious it would be! i made this last night for a small dinner party and it was a HUGE hit. the only changes i made were to substitute chicken broth for the wine, and used vine ripened tomatoes instead of roma. otherwise, i followed the recipe as is. i served it with cous cous and a salad, and was a weeknight gourmet! every dish was wiped clean, and everyone raved about this. i can't wait until chilean sea bass goes on sale again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This was wonderful---- !! I adapted it as I needed...flounder instead of sea bass, diced tomatoes from a can (drained); it was still marvelous....with a wonderful after taste !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States