Scyros (Pita Sandwich) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I didn't think this would really taste like gyros like other review, but to my surprise it really did! Family loved it and requested it for a weekly dinner. Instead of celery I used 1 tbsp of celery seed, omitted mushrooms. I also added salt to sauce, and used Cavendar's greek seasoning liberally to meat. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyto6babes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was very good! I don't think it tasted like a traditional gyro, but it was tasty. I did have to add some salt and pepper to the meat mixture. I omitted the celery, but did use the optional mushroons, which I thought were great in this. I actually think it could've used a little more spice, like it was missing something, but I can't put my finger on it. The Scottziki sauce was a little bland, but I ended up adding some salt, pepper, garlic powder and a little sour cream to fix that. All in all we enjoyed it and I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My family and I loved this recipe. It tastes very close to the original gyro. We didn't have red peppers, dill weed, or yogurt on hand and it was still great. I think it will be even better when we make it again with all the ingredients. I used sour cream instead of yogurt, added the cucumber and seasoned it with a little garlic salt. So, even if your short on ingredients you can still make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMunns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
7-12-11: Pretty good, but the beef didn't get browned. 8-13-12: This time, I cooked the beef first, then added then other stuff, with about the same results. 7-19-13: For the third time, not all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was okay, but it did not wow me. I used roasted red pepper (from a jar) instead of banana peppers, but I don't think it made much difference. I used the mushrooms, a lot of Greek seasoning in the meat and added some onion to the yogurt, all for more flavor, but it still wasn't enough. Something is missing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States