Scrumptious Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I've been trying for years to find the perfect sweet potato soufle recipe. This one definitely qualifies. I served it with my Thanksgiving dinner, and everyone raved about how delicious it was. I found a couple of problems with the recipe, though. In the ingredients list it calls for 1/3 c. softened butter. Then in the directions that amount is changed to 1/4 c. I had already measured out the 1/3 c. so I went ahead and used that much. It was fine. I think it works best when the margarine is melted rather than just softened, too. The baking dish called for in the recipe is 9x13. I believe that is much too large for a single recipe. I used one that is 8x11 and it was the ideal size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This was a terrific recipe for using minimal ingredients. Here's what I did to make it easy. I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough for the 3 of us. That meant, I only used one sweet potatoe and I cubed it before boiling it so I was able to have mashed sweet potato in less than 15 minutes. Also, I added a little orange peel zest to the mixture. I put the entire thing in a glass pie plate and it made the presentation beautiful. The topping crunched up perfectly and this was easy to make while managing my main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I made this for todays Thanksgiving dinner. It received very high remarks. The only changes I make was I doubled the topping.Also, I used two 40 oz. cans of sweet potatoes drained well. and NO ONE could tell. This really cuts the prep time in half. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I have made many versions of sweet potato casserole, but this is my favorite! My husband loved it. I used a 29 oz. can of yams instead of fresh ones and it came out great. I just drained and mashed them. Great recipe, easy and delicious, especially the pecan topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This is almost the same as my recipe,it varies in sugar and butter amount. For 3 cups sweet potatoes, I use 3 small cans of Taylor brand. I like to heat them up a bit for easier mixing in the microwave just until warm (but not necesary). Add 1/4-1/2 cup sugar, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup butter at room temperature, but can use right out of frige if potatoes are warm. Also add 1 tsp. vanilla ext. and 1tsp. salt.( no liquids.) Blend in mixer till smooth. Topping: 1/2 c. melted margarine, 1/2-3/4 c. brown sugar(light) Depending on how sweet you want it,and 1 c chopped nuts. I put in a 10 inch deep dish pie plate,(not necesary to grease dish) Bake 350 for 25 min. Everyone loves this dish. My kids won't touch sweet potatoes, so I don't know how kid freindly this is, but anyone who likes sweet potatoes and nuts will love this. It is a sweet vegetable and like a dessert, but I would never serve as a dessert. There are different versions of this recipe, you can't really go wrong with them. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This was unfortunately terribly terribly sweet for us. It is really more like a moist confection than a vegetable! My family did not like it, but it really depends on how you like sweet potatoes done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I have actually made this several times. I like it so much better without the marshmallows. It is an easy and delicious recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I have used this recipe for over a year, and brought it to Thanksgiving dinner last week. People who were avid sweet potato haters were declaring their love for this dish. I have never changed the recipe, it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I used an 8x8 pan hoping for a thicker casserole and less topping. Will try a larger pan next time as the thicker layer of potato was good but a bit thick and without any texture. Next time I'll use less sugar in the topping and a medium sized baking pan. Should be just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
cindy is right! Even people who don't like sweet potatoes will love this(if they like sweet stuff)! And it is so Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States