Scrumptious Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was SO DELICIOUS! It was so easy to make and everyone loved it! I love the way the topping comes out crunchy! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Great recipe. We have this every year and it is awesome. We love the crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I love this recipe! This year I made it with canned sweet potatoes/yams and it was just as good and a lot easier. I have made it several times and NEVER have leftovers from parties. Sometimes, I use dark brown sugar for the topping to make it sweeter. My sister likes for me to add mini marshmallows, too. I have been told "it's like mama used to make". It's sooo good, it could be dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This was very easy to make, we substituted canned sweet potatoes and it turned out great. The topping was the real showstopper. The taste was very good, and I rated it a 5 because I kept eating it bit by bit from the baking dish even though dinner was over...I just couldn't stop. I did cut down the white sugar a bit since others said it was too sweet. Worked for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I made this for our office Thanksgiving dinner, and people actually applauded! I've never like sweet potatoes before, and I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
delicious! A hit at our Thanksgiving party - a favorite dish, even among those who don't usually like sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I have actually made this several times. I like it so much better without the marshmallows. It is an easy and delicious recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I got this recipe from my sister-in-law years ago. It's a fabulous hit with my family and friends. It's works great with canned yams or sweet potatos. It's a wonderful change from the old casserole recipes that called for marshmallows on top. This is sweeter and the topping is crunchy. My mom eats this for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This was a terrific recipe for using minimal ingredients. Here's what I did to make it easy. I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough for the 3 of us. That meant, I only used one sweet potatoe and I cubed it before boiling it so I was able to have mashed sweet potato in less than 15 minutes. Also, I added a little orange peel zest to the mixture. I put the entire thing in a glass pie plate and it made the presentation beautiful. The topping crunched up perfectly and this was easy to make while managing my main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Good recipe but I like to spice it up a little. I add 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ginger, and 1/4 teaspoon cloves. Also, doesn't need milk it's moist enough without it. Add the spices and I'd give this recipe a 5+ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatStull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucklesberry, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States