Scrumptious Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is fabulous. We weren't sure with the topping but I've had requests for this again! The Best we've made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the original, good ole Southern style sweet potato casserole I grew up eating. The best recipe I ever ate was from my friend's grantmother in Nashville, using 1/3 butter and evaporated milk in the "pudding" and 1/3 butter in the topping. Do not use margarine or low fat ingredients. Use real vanilla, not imitation. If you have kids, leave off the topping and top with mini marshmallows. Set the casserole back into the oven and leave it in just long enought to let them begin browning. Watch them the entire time they are in the oven to avoid having "meteor casserole" with a flaming top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
love this recipe, its so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Diabetic Modifications: I made this recipe for the first time for an event I was attending. As a diabetic, the amount of sugar (white and brown) in the original recipe was ridiculous, not to mention totally unnecessary. I cut the sugar amounts in half and used less milk. And, the amount of flour that was called for was totally unnecessary as well. I cut 1/4 off of the original amount. The nuts taste better when mixed with less sugar and flour. It tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is the best sweet potato casserole dish i've ever made!! Tried a few before this one.... will never stray from this timeless classic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
such a wonderful holiday dish!! My family requests it every year.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I found this recipe to be very sweet, I think I would like to try it without the 2/3 cup white sugar. I think the brown sugar and pecan topping would be enough. Was also confused by the amounts in the ingredients section and the directions section having to do with the butter/margarine. If you have diabetics in your family, not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Super side dish for all times of the year! I did reduce the sugar a bit, per previous suggestions. My husband (who usually raises his nose to sweet potatoes) ate all the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I don't like sweet potato casseroles, but this was really good! Excellent! My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
our whole family LOVED these..we used fresh potatoes not canned..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States