Scrumptious Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I've been trying for years to find the perfect sweet potato soufle recipe. This one definitely qualifies. I served it with my Thanksgiving dinner, and everyone raved about how delicious it was. I found a couple of problems with the recipe, though. In the ingredients list it calls for 1/3 c. softened butter. Then in the directions that amount is changed to 1/4 c. I had already measured out the 1/3 c. so I went ahead and used that much. It was fine. I think it works best when the margarine is melted rather than just softened, too. The baking dish called for in the recipe is 9x13. I believe that is much too large for a single recipe. I used one that is 8x11 and it was the ideal size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I don't really like sweet potatoes, but I love them cooked this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Payne Dewar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
My husband and son are sweet potato critical. I tried this and they loved it, they have even requested I make it again. Will be sharing a dish for the first time Turkey Day 2002.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
cindy is right! Even people who don't like sweet potatoes will love this(if they like sweet stuff)! And it is so Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I used an 8x8 pan hoping for a thicker casserole and less topping. Will try a larger pan next time as the thicker layer of potato was good but a bit thick and without any texture. Next time I'll use less sugar in the topping and a medium sized baking pan. Should be just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
I normally do not like sweet potatoes buy this receipe I loved and I got raves when I served it Xmas eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This was unfortunately terribly terribly sweet for us. It is really more like a moist confection than a vegetable! My family did not like it, but it really depends on how you like sweet potatoes done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I made this last night and it was a HUGE hit. The low kid rating is because it's very messy. It doesn't set up like you might think. I used wal-nuts instead of pecans because I had those on hand. It was fine that way too. (My mother in law makes a version of this recipe wth pecans). However, I am not much of a nut person and left a little with only the crumbly mixture and it was very yummy. Bake your sweet potatoes for about 20-25 mintues and wait for them to cool. Then cut a slit in the them and turn inside out. Works like a charm! Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This recipe has WAY too much vanilla in it. No one liked it. I'll pass on this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Prepared for Thankgiving Day, the recipe was good but a bit too sweet & nutty for my taste; overall though it was easy to make and if I do make it again I would put less brown sugar & pecans. loricoach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States