Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
A pain to make (hence the 4 stars), but they were so much better than the store-bought variety! Made exactly as is with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
We REALLY did not care for this shortcake. It turned out fluffy and just slightly odd tasting. The consistency was off. I guess I was looking for more substance and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I love this because the cake is not too sweet and it really soaks up the berries juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My only critizism is the cornstarch is unnecessary and it does not need to be kneaded and rolled. It works fine as a drop dough. I ommitted the corn starch and rolled balls in my hands. My dough was sticky, not great rolling material anyways. I am not sure if that's because I didn't use corn starch. I also used less baking powder (I ran out) and more sugar (my own preference) But over all this is THE best tasting dough ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
We were disappointed with this recipe. When I invest so much fat into a dough, I expect it to be fantastic. Unfortunately the end result was flat, bland, and crumbly. The cakes did soak up the strawberry juices, but even then they didn't shine. It's too bad because the dough was easy to work with and retained it's shape well while baking (I used cookie cutters to make fun shapes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This IS strawberry shortcake and shouldn't be compared to putting strawberries on biscuits or pound cake. Shortcake means it has a lot of shortening; the crumb is between biscuits and pie crust. Be sure to split the shortcake, not stack two together. Also let the berries rest a few hours after sugaring to develop juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I was a little disappointed by the shortcake in this recipe. It was simple, but not quite as good as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjclements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made mine bigger than the recipe called for and did not add the cream of tartar as recommended by other members. The result was delicious and huge buttery and flaky shortcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
My stomach still hurts from eating so much of this. I have never made strawberry shortcake because I distinctly remember not enjoying the taste of the taste of the shortcake growing up. This recipe has changed my mind! Making your own whipped cream and using fresh strawberries just makes it even more scrumptious! I can't wait to have it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great, quick, and easy shortcake recipe! I reduced the baking powder by 1 tsp. & added 2 tsp of vanilla extract as other reviews suggested. I served it w homemade whipped cream & a strawberry and blueberry mixture (w little sugar) that was saturating overnight. Lovely summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States