Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I chose to follow and use all ingredients in original recipe as I could not understand how another reviewer thought that the end product had a strange taste and blamed it on the Cream of Tartar??? I was well pleased with the results!! No funny taste, not flat, just a simple, light and subtly sweet shortcake. I hate the sponge type things they sell in the stores as I think they are far to sweet and detract from the berries. This is a perfect compliment to your berries and with just the hint of sweetness allows for the use of whipped cream without overwhelming sugariness (I just made that up, but for lack of a better word I think it works)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
flakey and delish. so happy i found this recipie!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy I

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chicchick
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made this for Easter dessert - super yummy! Definitely a "short bread" - buttery, flaky, but holds together really well so you can stab it with a fork. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Awesome!!! Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is a lovely way to celebrate seasonal strawberries. Made this today in Abu Dhabi, where they don't sell Cream of Tartar. They turned out ok, but I prefer a better rise and a more fluffy shortcake. Don't leave out the Cream of Tartar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
this looks great! im trying it!......never made it yet. looks 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADABUGGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I completely disagree with lower baking powder and no cream of tartar suggestions. I followed other reviews and made two batches with 3 tsp bp and no cream of tartar....then made a third batch as the recipe is written....third batch was by far the best! Big, lofty....awesome. 4 stars because I found it a little drier than I would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was a wonderful recipe. No modifications needed. I shaped this into a log, cut off twelve pieces, rolled them in balls, pressed them in sugar and popped them into the oven. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious!!! I made just a few accidental variations--- First off, I ran out of whipping cream as little shy of 2/3 but luckily I had whole milk so it worked out just fine. The dough was just a little dry while kneading so I added probably a tablespoon extra of whole milk. Secondly, my silly boyfriend killed the timer after probably ten minutes of baking, so I had to check every five minutes. I must have baked longer than 20 minutes, more like 25 or 30 actually.... The biscuits do not get very 'golden brown', so just take them out when you can insert a knife and pull out clean. Also, I did not spread into a sheet, I made six traditional biscuits. Came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinedaydream

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States