Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is a lovely way to celebrate seasonal strawberries. Made this today in Abu Dhabi, where they don't sell Cream of Tartar. They turned out ok, but I prefer a better rise and a more fluffy shortcake. Don't leave out the Cream of Tartar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
this looks great! im trying it!......never made it yet. looks 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADABUGGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I completely disagree with lower baking powder and no cream of tartar suggestions. I followed other reviews and made two batches with 3 tsp bp and no cream of tartar....then made a third batch as the recipe is written....third batch was by far the best! Big, lofty....awesome. 4 stars because I found it a little drier than I would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was a wonderful recipe. No modifications needed. I shaped this into a log, cut off twelve pieces, rolled them in balls, pressed them in sugar and popped them into the oven. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious!!! I made just a few accidental variations--- First off, I ran out of whipping cream as little shy of 2/3 but luckily I had whole milk so it worked out just fine. The dough was just a little dry while kneading so I added probably a tablespoon extra of whole milk. Secondly, my silly boyfriend killed the timer after probably ten minutes of baking, so I had to check every five minutes. I must have baked longer than 20 minutes, more like 25 or 30 actually.... The biscuits do not get very 'golden brown', so just take them out when you can insert a knife and pull out clean. Also, I did not spread into a sheet, I made six traditional biscuits. Came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinedaydream

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I love strawberry shortcake and I thought this recipe was perfect! It's similar to the one me and a friend made so I was happy to find this recipe because the shortcake we made was delicious! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Made these at home with homemade whipped cream and fresh strawberries and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I have tried a lot of strawberry shortcake recipes over the years and this one tops the list. It gets 5 stars in both taste and simplicity. I reduced the amount of cream of tartar to 1/4 tsp, I used a 3 inch square cookie cutter to get uniform pieces, and sprinkled them with raw sugar before baking. This is a great recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I used 2 cups of all-purpose flour, and substituted the 3rd cup with 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of cornmeal. I used whole milk instead of cream and I think the mix was a little wetter that way, so I spread it in a 13X9 pan instead of kneading and making separate biscuits. Oh my, it was so delicious. This is my forever shortcake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Easy and delicious! A little on the dry side but I liked that... It soaks up more strawberry juice that way. I think next time I will sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on the shortcakes before I bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States