Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These turned out great even though I had to use white wheat flour-being that is all I had-and I did as one reviewer just spread the dough in a 9x13 baking dish to make it easier.Just cut squares out, topped with the fruit and whip. Yum. Nothing left. I also did not use the cream of tarter since I had none as many had mentioned and did not seem to miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was good but not what I remember having when I was younger. I think the shortcake was sweeter. I let the strawberries sit with the sugar too long. Don't add the sugar until a few minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I thought these were really good but a little too crumbly. Maybe my oven runs a little hot. Try to bake them a little shorter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Hands down, this is the best shortcake recipe I have ever made. I did have to add a couple of extra tablespoons of cream to make the dough less crumbly, and it worked out very, very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
YUMMY!!!!! I have always liked strawberry shortcakes on biscuits, but my husband doesn't agree; I figured I'd give these a whirl to see how they worked for the both of us. Amazing! I halved the recipe but still used one whole egg. Only used a pinch of cream of tartar and added vanilla extract and a few drops of almond extract. It came out like a biscuit/cake/pie crust hybrid; Flaky yet moist and slightly crumbly with a hint of sweetness. I rolled the dough into balls and flattened them but they spread a little too much during baking. I think I will try making them in Texas muffin tins next time to keep the size. Also, I slice the strawberries and stir with the sugar many hours in advance to encourage the sugar to draw out the liquid in the berries, creating a light syrup. And since the recipe calls for heavy cream, whip some up to add fresh whipped cream to the fresh shortcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Wonderful! I froze the butter and grated it instead of cutting it in, worked perfectly. I also brushed the tops with egg white wash and sprinkled some sugar crystals on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
To those who thought this was not sweet enought or would be moist, etc. Shortcake like this is more like a biscuit and less like cake. It is not like the little round cakes you buy in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Made with no changes. I did drizzle blackberry syrup over the top and added a few blackberries to the strawberries. Very good, will make this again. Next time I will make them thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have no idea what went wrong, but this was bitter and just BAD. The texture was nice, but the flavor was just awful. I served it to a large group and they scraped the strawberries & cream off to eat without the shortcake. I will experiment tomorrow and see what I can improve on. I must say, I didn't think there was enough sugar in the recipe, but trusted the reviewers. I have no clue what went wrong, but will get back with any further findings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackwood13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Holy moly!!! I made little rounds instead of squares and added some of the strawberry glaze. So delicious!! The shortcakes were out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Hobson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States