Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I was going to make my shortcake out of Bisquick but decided at the last minute to make these. They are the best I've ever had! I heeded the advice of others and omitted the cream of tartar. I cut back baking powder to only 3 tsp. thought 4 tsp. was too much. I gently pulled mixture together after cutting in butter, with my hands in mixing bowl and instead of rolling and cutting, I formed into 12 gently formed balls. Flattened top just slightly and sprinkled with coarse sugar carefully cuz it tends to want to roll of the top. Just lightly pat into top so it stays put. They were great! Taste a little bit like shortbread. Very tender. I always use more sugar in my strawberries to create more of a juice. For the viewer that was wondering why theirs came out flat, check the expiration date on your baking powder, it is usually found on the bottom of the can. It doesn't stay fresh that long, so that might have been the problem. Hope this helps. Thanks Sara, this was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I WANTED TO MAKE A TRADITIONAL STACKED STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE FOR A CROWD! I searched for a nice cream biscuit recipe, and this was the one I used. I was able to successfully double the biscuit recipe and bake in a 9-x-13 pan. I kneaded the dough right in the bowl and then pressed into the 9-x-13 pan. I forked the raw dough in the pan before baking. It took my oven about 35- to 40-minutes to be done. I cooled it about 10 minutes in the pan and then turned out on a rack to cool. I sliced the biscuit in half horizontally using a serrated knice and flipped it over on a serving platter using a thin cookie sheet like a giant spatula. I then slathered the warm biscuit with butter and then layered the fresh strawberries with their juice that I had sliced up the night before with a little sugar and lemon juice on top followed by fresh whipped cream, the next buttered biscuit and then another layer of strawberries and cream. Let it sit overnight in the frig, and it was delicious. Presented the large cake for the crowd, and they loved it. It sliced nicely into tall squares--some fell over, but it tasted incredible. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
These were wonderful!! My modifications included, 1) reduced amount of cream of tarter to only 1/8tsp(a pinch) 2) used food processor to cut in the butter 3) used 2% milk instead of heavy cream 4) added in 1-2 tsp vanilla extract 5) sprinkled tops with sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Hands down the best shortcakes I've ever made! These shortcakes are flaky like a pie crust but soft and chewy like a biscuit. I prefer to add lemon extract with poppy seeds and to make 6 large rather than the 12 smaller ones. I also roll them in my hands and flatten on the cookie sheet and use half-and-half if I don't have the cream. I originally made this recipe following all ingredients to a T and it was delicious, my lemon version just sounded good one night. I also mixed in some fresh blueberries as they are good with lemon as well. Serve with homemade sweetened whipped cream and WOW! what a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This is the best biscuit strawberry shortcake recipe I've tried. I took all the advice given...left out the cream of tartar and cut the baking powder down to 3...added 1/2 tsp of salt...brushed with cream and sprinkled with sugar...soaked the strawberries overnight...AND made real whipped cream. It turned out tender and sooo delicious...not too sweet and the taste resembled a tea biscuit. Could not have been better for me and my crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REDPONYGIRL
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I needed a quick recipe for shortcake for a last minute dessert during the Memorial Day holiday. I read some of the reviews and decided to go with the opinion of those who did not use cream of tarter, and only 3 teaspoons of baking powder. As I mixed in the egg and cream, I decided to add a bit of vanilla to the dough, using one teaspoon. I liked how it came out. The shortcakes were good enough to eat alone, without any fruit or whipped topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
It was INSANELY good. I halved the recipe and omitted the cream of tartar, per other reviews. Also, I only had 2% milk on hand (and didn't feel like going to the store) so I used that instead of cream, and I noticed no difference in the taste. They were divine, and I will DEFINITELY be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkerlieBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I was told (the first time that I made this) that it was the best shortcake that they had ever eaten! I am a cooking novice and after reading the reviews I tried this recipe. I eliminated the cream of tartar and cut the baking powder down to 3 and it was wonderful. I also made a strawberry glaze by putting the strawberries and 1/2 cup of sugar in a pot and boiled them for the glaze. Everyone thought they were wonderful. I made them again today. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I don't see how the last review could substitute applesauce for butter in a shortcake recipe and then be surprised at a poor result! I think this recipe is wonderful. I have always used the no cream of tartar version. Sometimes I use whole wheat flour (or half white and half ww) to improve the nutrition, and it is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My dad says that this is just like his mother used to make for him when they lived in the south. Genuine thick, dense strawberry shortcake. Absolutely delicious. I don't know if I'll use the cream of tartar next time I make it; it did add a bit of an aftertaste. Not unpleasant, just unconventional. Still, the best shortcake I've had since I was in Maryland. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States