Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Very good! The cakes were good enough to eat plain. I did not use the cream of tartar. Also, I did not pat the dough to 1/2 inch, more like an inch thick for our personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
These were delicious and a recipe keeper. I didn't have on hand heavy cream so I used half-n-half and I didn't notice a difference. Aside from that I added more sugar to my strawberries and let them sit overnight which created a sweet delicious berry juice. My kids loved these shortcakes and said "mom this is a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
These are the best shortcakes I have had in a long time. I patted them into rounds and sprinkled them with sugar before baking. I did leave out the cream of tartar, only because I didn't have any, and used half and half because that's what I had on hand. I will make these again, following the recipe exactly, to see what the difference may be. However, they were a great consistency, soaked up the strawberry juice without getting soggy, and were not too sweet. It's the closest to my favorite recipe that was lost years ago. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I am so impressed with the outcome of this recipe..FANTASTIC...it's a keeper. Thanks Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Fantastic!!! My daughter and I picked some fresh strawberries at a local farm. This is the best shortcake recipe I have ever had. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I deleted the Cream of Tartar and used buttermilk instead of heavy cream (because that's what I already had). Turned out beautifully; flaky and tasty. I was just a bit discouraged with the lack of golden color after baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These turned out great even though I had to use white wheat flour-being that is all I had-and I did as one reviewer just spread the dough in a 9x13 baking dish to make it easier.Just cut squares out, topped with the fruit and whip. Yum. Nothing left. I also did not use the cream of tarter since I had none as many had mentioned and did not seem to miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was good but not what I remember having when I was younger. I think the shortcake was sweeter. I let the strawberries sit with the sugar too long. Don't add the sugar until a few minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I thought these were really good but a little too crumbly. Maybe my oven runs a little hot. Try to bake them a little shorter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Hands down, this is the best shortcake recipe I have ever made. I did have to add a couple of extra tablespoons of cream to make the dough less crumbly, and it worked out very, very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States