Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Really Good! Easy Too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Scrumptious & Delicious just as the name says. This was certainly a hit today at Sunday dinner. I will be using it many more time. Made it just as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Not cake-like enough for me, and had a sharp bite-y aftertaste. Salt might have helped. I will stick with my tried-and-true Betty Crocker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These were very good! The only thing I didn't like was that it was a little bit messy and drippy since the strawberries were in a sugar "sauce" i guess. All over though, it was very very VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E-Clare'sBakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is the best shortcake I've ever found. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Rather tasteless as it is. Needs vanilla. I gave this recipe four stars instead of three because the strawberries I bought at the supermarket were rather tasteless too, which can't be blamed on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is a popular way to eat short cake, i.e, biscuit dough. I prefer the sweeter version using either pound cake or hot milk spongecake. Schaum torte, and I don't mean hard meringue shells, is the supreme shortcake base for us. Thanks for your recipe, it affords some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
ok, but really more cookie like than cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Absolutely the best shortcake we have tried from this site. Perfect in everyone's opinion. The only change I made was to back down the cream of tartar to about 1/8 teaspoon. Texture reminds me of a very tender shortbread/biscuit combo that is not overly sweet and really lets the fresh berries shine. Still delicious the next day. Cant wait to try it with various fresh berries/fruit this summer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Very good! The cakes were good enough to eat plain. I did not use the cream of tartar. Also, I did not pat the dough to 1/2 inch, more like an inch thick for our personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States