Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This turned out pretty good with using some changes in most of the reviews I read. I did increase the sugar to 1/2 cup, omitted the cream of tartar, also had no heavy cream so I used 1/2 n 1/2. This is not the recipe for someone who wants cake with there strawberries and cream, but I did enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delicious! I couldn't resist eating some without the berries & whipped cream. Yummy shortbread! I also zested a little lemon rind in it. It was a big hit at our Easter gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I followed the recipe and was disappointed. These are just a biscuit. They would taste better with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I thought this was very dry and not sweet enough for me. Not my type of shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Take It to the Top! It's been a very long time since I've had shortcake this good. Unfortunately, when my grandmother passed away, we couldn't find the recipe for shortcake. This comes as close as anything I have tried to her very fine shortcake. The flavor is good, though I may add just a touch more sugar the next time I bake it. The crumb is wonderful with a melt-in-your-mouth feel. We dressed it with a sour cherry compote comprised of canned sour cherries, honey, ice wine riesling, and a touch of cinnamon, mace, and allspice. The taste was as if a small part of heaven had come down among us. One warning: many recipes overstate their serving power–this really does makes twelve servings. As we are a family of three, we've put a few in the freezer. I hope they will save well. If not, next time I make the recipe (and there will be a next time), I will try to reduce the number of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spike Da Peke
Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Amazing! I followed the advice of others and left out the cream of tartar. Also, I was out of regular butter so I used light stick butter instead. These turned out wonderful! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Good, I would use less cream of tartar, baking soda and add more sugar. Used my mixer to cut in the butter, saved me so much effort :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyasMommy
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great! These are excellent. I don't like the really bready and dry shortcakes. Like someone said, these are flaky, kind of like a pie crust. I make my own strawberry concoction to go on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seasonedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I didn't make any changes and it was PERFECT. I spread mine out in a 9" X 13" and it took a bit longer to cook than the directions said though. Around 35 min, actually
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
These are sooooo good. We make them every strawberry season and we all love them! I do half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour. Also I take out the cream of tartar and replace it with baking powder. Still sooo delicious! I recommend this recipe to all strawberry lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States