Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Light as a feather, flaky and the not so pretty ones you make from the scratch at the end we eat while warm! I sprinkle the top of the dough with raw sugar and gently press in before cutting. So pretty with a sugary crunch. I never kneed 2 minutes. I kneed it over gently maybe 7 times until the dough is soft but the butter is still small pea sized pieces. I also used cream and milk. I won't use another recipe! (For the people who had dry shortcakes- not enough liquid or baked too long. Mine have always come out perfect. I add more liquid if needed until it feels right)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Pretty good taste wise, but the texture of the biscuit wasn't quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Changed a lot to make it healthier! Substituted 2cups of wheat flour for 2 cups of the white. So one cup white 2 cups wheat. Blended 2 apples and a quarter cup of Splenda and added it to the dry ingredients (no butter or egg) used Splenda in place of white sugar in all areas. Added about a quarter cup of while milk instead of cream. Turned out really good! And much healthier for all of my friends losing weight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
It was really delicious and much easier than I imagined strawberry shortcake to be. I didn't use cream of tartar b/c I couldn't find any. Had to add a little flour at the end to make the batter less sticky. Followed the advice of other reviewers and used 3 tsp. of baking powder instead of 4. Kneaded dough right in the bowl and divided it into 12 balls (half flattened). Baked it about 20 min. Topped with homemade whipped cream and a little powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I thought this would be a sweeter, buttery shortcake it is rather cake like in texture. There is an awful after taste. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I loved these, but my husband not so much. He's more used to the angel food cake you buy in the stores (mother didn't do much baking). Anyways, I loved these, had extra and just used them to snack on at work. Followed the advice of others by reducing the amount of cream of tartar and sprinkled the tops with sugar before baking. I also used more sugar on my berries, and I served with homemade whipped cream. I thought it was delicious, as did my little 1yo daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Dull on flavor, short on sweetness and lacking in texture. Yes, the strawberries and cream are the "main event" of this dessert, but the shortcake is the foundation and if it has no flavor on it's own and won't soak up the juices of the strawberries, it's not doing it's job. My cakes were very dry and broke easily when cutting. How is that possible with 1 cup of butter and some cream in the mix? In my opinion, you're just not getting the bang for the buck here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I chose to follow and use all ingredients in original recipe as I could not understand how another reviewer thought that the end product had a strange taste and blamed it on the Cream of Tartar??? I was well pleased with the results!! No funny taste, not flat, just a simple, light and subtly sweet shortcake. I hate the sponge type things they sell in the stores as I think they are far to sweet and detract from the berries. This is a perfect compliment to your berries and with just the hint of sweetness allows for the use of whipped cream without overwhelming sugariness (I just made that up, but for lack of a better word I think it works)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
flakey and delish. so happy i found this recipie!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy I

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chicchick
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made this for Easter dessert - super yummy! Definitely a "short bread" - buttery, flaky, but holds together really well so you can stab it with a fork. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States