Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Thank you thank you thank you! I've been searching for the perfect Strawberry Shortcake recipe for years, and I've finally found it! My kids agree, the search is over. Complete perfection. I used a round biscuit cutter so they would all be the same size. Due to the altitude here I had to make a couple adjustments to the amounts. I reduced the baking powder to 3 3/4 tsp, added 3 tbs of cream, and then increased the oven temperature to 375. I did not change anything else. The biscuits are buttery with just the right amount of sweetness. We all agreed that they're almost like cookies in flavor. They are also extremely filling. One of those is a meal. Make sure you use home made whipped cream for this, the spray can stuff won't hold up. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Tasted delicious but was very crumbly and fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Good but not that much better than the recipe on the Bisquick box. Didn't know what size pan to use and the cakes came out too large and too flat. I do like the idea of making them square rather than rolling them out and making them round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this today - and it was a hit. I DID read all reviews and use only a pinch of cream of tartar, and 3 tsp baking powder as per suggested by other cooks. And the result was a houseful of "oooh" and "wow"s. I didn't roll the dough out either, I just formed biscuit shapes and baked individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
My husband made these (who doesn't bake) and they turned out WONDERFULLY! We will completely make them again. Made exactly as written. We are big fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
perfect biscuit shortcake for strawberries. used 2% milk since had no heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULLUM
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Was great-- no changes- delicious! Texture a little firmer than we are used to but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Devine shortcake recipe, that is all I can say. I also make it for breakfast to eat with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Awesome!!! I read one reviewer noted they were dry. These are a kind of dry shortcake- perfect for soaking up the strawberry juice, YUMMMM!!!! I thought the taste was spot on. I froze the butter then shredded it into the dry mix and it worked great. Also I did not use cream of tarter; and used a little less baking powder as indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
It taste like a plain biscuit.. Extremely dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States