Scrumptious Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These can be baked in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes instead of frying. they freeze well. My family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
After sharing these with several people they all asked for the recipe. I also made the same recipe except I used corned beef instead of sausage and I cut the cream cheese in half and added 6 oz of shredded swiss cheese and used 1,000 island dressing as a dipping sauce. Basically, rueben balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The work involved is worth it!I always dbl.the recipe because everyone loves them.I learned how to make these from my mom.She always made them for family gatherings.Only thing we do differently is snip w/scissors the kraut and lightly brown the balls in oil,then bake at 375 for 15 to 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Devich Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was awesome!!! My husband and I had sauerkraut balls at a German Restaurant in Columbus, OH a few years ago and have craved them ever since. This recipe was very close to the original. I made them as a Christmas appetizer and they were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Hubby and I host 2-3 "Beast Feasts" per year and yesterday I used this one and substituted venison kielbasa for the pork sausage. We had over 50 people show up and and everyone that tried one of these loved it...including the kids. I doubled the recipe and got a yield of 85. We had about 15 other dishes available, but this one was one of the favorites! Made a horseradish sauce for dipping just for fun. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I use vegetarian sausage when I want these and the meat-eaters still gobble them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Great recipe with good ratios. I ate sauerkraut balls like crazy growing up in Ohio and LOVED them. Never even thought to make them before until a recent ball-themed snack party. I tried variations of this recipe and determined that you can substitute about a clove or so of garlic for the garlic salt (this dish doesn't need any extra salt). Definitely WASH the kraut and drain well, even squeezing out the excess water with your hands. Careful on the amounts of onion and garlic as both can overpower the taste of the balls. I added about a teaspoon each of fresh thyme and oregano at the end of cooking the sausage and added a T or two of fresh Italian parsley before mixing up the balls. Caraway seeds are a good addition too. Chilling the mixture in the freezer for 15 min. before balling makes it so much easier. Used buttermilk in the coating for extra flavor. Did half with Panko instead of crumbs but you could barely tell the difference, both in look and taste. Frying was key to a crispy coating but these reheat very well in a hot oven or toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Deliciously odd! I really liked these. They weren't that bad to make either as far as labor goes. I did make them with leftover kraut and polska kielbasa. This is very unique- thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is the exact same recipe the was handed down to me by my Mother in-law, God bless her! My husband hates kraut, but loves these so much! He made me try them when we first got married 9 years ago and we have made them at the holidays, especially New Year's Eve, ever since! They are fantastic, unique and worth every bit of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Rettig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I just served these sauerkraut balls at a New Year's Day party. I received so many compliments and requests for the recipe. Guests even raved how much better they were than a couple of well known German restaurants in Columbus Ohio. I am guilty of making some minor modifications. I used more onion than the recipe called for as well as honey mustard and black pepper. I used the refrigerated sauerkraut in a plastic bag and hand sqeezed all the liquid from the kraut (don't rinse). A chef on T.V. once said that the only use for "dried" parsley is for garnish. I used fresh cilantro since my local store ran out of fresh parsley. Also, use a couple of fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic salt and add a little salt. I doubled the recipe and used a 1oz scoop to form the balls (30ct). I was worried that placing them in a crock pot would make them soggy. It worked fairly well. Simply place papertowels on the bottom and then place paper towels between each layer with the crockpot on warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINERBOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States