Scrumptious Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Great recipe with good ratios. I ate sauerkraut balls like crazy growing up in Ohio and LOVED them. Never even thought to make them before until a recent ball-themed snack party. I tried variations of this recipe and determined that you can substitute about a clove or so of garlic for the garlic salt (this dish doesn't need any extra salt). Definitely WASH the kraut and drain well, even squeezing out the excess water with your hands. Careful on the amounts of onion and garlic as both can overpower the taste of the balls. I added about a teaspoon each of fresh thyme and oregano at the end of cooking the sausage and added a T or two of fresh Italian parsley before mixing up the balls. Caraway seeds are a good addition too. Chilling the mixture in the freezer for 15 min. before balling makes it so much easier. Used buttermilk in the coating for extra flavor. Did half with Panko instead of crumbs but you could barely tell the difference, both in look and taste. Frying was key to a crispy coating but these reheat very well in a hot oven or toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Labor-intensive but wonderful. Baked at 350 for 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Deliciously odd! I really liked these. They weren't that bad to make either as far as labor goes. I did make them with leftover kraut and polska kielbasa. This is very unique- thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
MmMmMm! Because it was only two of us eating them, I made mine a little bit bigger! But they were still so good. My parents actually used this recipe first then passed it on to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parker, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Should have tried before serving. These were greasy and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made these with cabbage. I like sauerkraut but did not have any. I had a half a head of cabbage I needed to use. They turned out great. I baked at 350 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
pretty good, but a lot of work. takes a long time to roll and assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffjergy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
These were awesome! I'll definitely make these again. I may try to use italian sausage (or 1/2 of pork sausage and 1/2 of italian sausage) to try to spice it up. I did bake them and they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Made these and they were excellent. I added some swiss cheese to these, I'm a big cheese fan, and they were great. Everyone loved them. Will have to make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetiksistah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
i first have to start off by saying i am a the biggest fan of kraut. (german) i even drink the juice!!! yikes. these balls are kinda weird. ?? i dont know if its the bread crumbs or what but not good. i did make the recipe as directed and also found it hard that once the balls were formed and needed to be rolled in the egg wash and crumbs they fall apart. i have tried to bake but they dont get crispy enough. will not try ever again. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Boudin Balls

See how to make a crispy, meaty appetizer for game day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States