Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome recipe! Took the advice of others and used fresh mushrooms cooked prior to adding to gravy (especially since I read that canned mushrooms are allowed, per fda, to contain up to 20 mites/can, whether this is true or not I prefer to err on the side of caution)... This is the first review I've ever written and I've used quite a few recipes on here. I found this dish so easy and so yummy, as did my husband and 17 yr old picky daughter, that I wanted to try and cancel out one of the bad reviews- don't listen to them! Esp if you're adept in the kitchen and can make the slight modifications necessary to fit your preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I thought this was good. I did use fresh mushrooms and brought gravy to boil then down to simmer to help thicken it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Easy and I like that it doesn't have can of soup! I just used one can of mushrooms and thought that was lots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ayellene
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I loved it! It was simply amazing! My husband is really picky but he absolutely loved this recipe, definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayellene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
very much enjoyed this. I took the suggestion of using italian bread crumbs. we also only used 1/2 the mushrooms (my husband doesn't like them and conveniently only brought one can home.).. amazingly he LOVED the steak and gravy including the mushrooms. this is a big deal for my mushroom hating hubby. looking forward to making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was good. I doubled the meat mixture because one lb of ground beef was never going to feed 6 at our house. No need to double sauce, there was a lot! Serve with mashed potatoes or noodles or something to soak up gravy. Begining cooks note: make sure to cook your flour for a minute or two so that your gravy doesn't have a raw flour taste. This was comfort food and I would probably make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
After cooking Salisbury Steak a certain way for years I decided to change things up and cook it a different way. I thought it turned out excellent and the family loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
this recipe turned out a complete disaster..sodium levels were immense (even for me)....each beef boullion is 1400mg of sodium..multimply that by 3 and ...!!!!!...this is what i did 2nd time around..i did the patties as directed and then just used gravy mix bought from the store..added some mushrooms and voila
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This recipe was sooo goood and it turned out really well. The gravy is easy to make, just make sure to use a fork to stir at first to press the lumps out. I just squished them with the fork. Once the gravy sits it gets this filmy type skin that I took off with a spoon or re-heating and stiring will dissolve it. As the gravy sits, it also thickens, so you will need to add just a little more milk to thin it out just a bit. The salisbury steak was also very good. I definetly will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Very good. I gave some to my Mom and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Riker

Displaying results 41-50 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States