Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I rate this 3.5 stars. It was pretty good, but I won't make it often. Good comfort food if you ask me. The gravy took a long time to thicken (it did thicken nicely) even at medium heat. I almost added more flour but glad I didn't; I think it would have tasted too much like flour if I did. I didn't get 6 1-inch patties out of the beef, only 5 3.5 to 4 inch patties which was ok with me. Oh, I used fresh mushroom and sauted them until they started to darken just a *little* bit before adding the flour which worked out in the end since the gravy took so long to thicken. I think if I had sauted them longer to make them can style soft if you will, they would've been over cooked. I also added some sliced onion (sauted with sh'rooms)because I like the combo and I had an opened one in the fridge that needed to be used. I also think this gravy would be a good base for stroganoff too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldneyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe called, and found that flavor-wise, this dish was a 5. However, this had to have been the most watery gravy I have ever seen in my life. That is why I gave it a 3. Next time I make this, I will definitely experiment with the gravy. But as the author wrote it, I would have to say it was just substance to get me through to the next meal. Nothing to write home to Mom about....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was a good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because the timing is off, it took 20 minutes longer. Also 3 cups is too much milk, my gravy never got thick enough. ****I made this again and reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. It's easy to make and SO full of flavor! I used fresh mushrooms, and since I didn't have an onion, I used dry onion flakes. I served it with mashed potatoes and fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Very good recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I was a little Leary about this, made a few tweaks to the receipe but when all said & done, it was delish! The kids & husband devoured it first then worked on the sides, which pleased me. I made it with egg noodles but the gravy congealed to quickly, not sure how to fix that. It was yummy tho! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great recipe! The gravy turned out nice and thick; I made the recipe as is but cooked a bit longer then the 10 minutes in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe and YUMMM! My family of six loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aw406

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Good recipe, though I changed a couple of things. Personally, I found the gravy to be a little bland, so I added some onion soup mix (half a pack to the gravy and half to the burgers) and "doctored" it up with some additional seasonings (pepper, salt, garlic powder). I also added half a can of cream of mushroom soup and cut back on the amount of milk used, I probably used 1 cup in total. These are just preferences of mine. With my changes, I absolutely loved it and husband literally told me it was "to die for"! I made it with mashed potatoes and had plenty of mushrooms/gravy to spoon over both. I will most certainly make this again (with my changes). Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Our family did not care for this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States