Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe called, and found that flavor-wise, this dish was a 5. However, this had to have been the most watery gravy I have ever seen in my life. That is why I gave it a 3. Next time I make this, I will definitely experiment with the gravy. But as the author wrote it, I would have to say it was just substance to get me through to the next meal. Nothing to write home to Mom about....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was a good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because the timing is off, it took 20 minutes longer. Also 3 cups is too much milk, my gravy never got thick enough. ****I made this again and reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. It's easy to make and SO full of flavor! I used fresh mushrooms, and since I didn't have an onion, I used dry onion flakes. I served it with mashed potatoes and fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Very good recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I was a little Leary about this, made a few tweaks to the receipe but when all said & done, it was delish! The kids & husband devoured it first then worked on the sides, which pleased me. I made it with egg noodles but the gravy congealed to quickly, not sure how to fix that. It was yummy tho! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great recipe! The gravy turned out nice and thick; I made the recipe as is but cooked a bit longer then the 10 minutes in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe and YUMMM! My family of six loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aw406

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Good recipe, though I changed a couple of things. Personally, I found the gravy to be a little bland, so I added some onion soup mix (half a pack to the gravy and half to the burgers) and "doctored" it up with some additional seasonings (pepper, salt, garlic powder). I also added half a can of cream of mushroom soup and cut back on the amount of milk used, I probably used 1 cup in total. These are just preferences of mine. With my changes, I absolutely loved it and husband literally told me it was "to die for"! I made it with mashed potatoes and had plenty of mushrooms/gravy to spoon over both. I will most certainly make this again (with my changes). Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Our family did not care for this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
It's a good base, but even after adding extra spices, my family and I still found it to be bland. I will definitely try at least once more, but will be adding lots of spices to it to give it more flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States