Scrumptious Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this recipe using light brown sugar (did not have "dark" on hand). It was fabulous. While stirring the sugar and butter, I was careful not to scrape the sides of the pan. When it was finished cooking, I poured the mixture into another bowl. Let it cool. Beat in the powdered sugar gradually. It was very creamy and smooth. Put it on an old fashion banana cake. Will definitely keep this recipe for other cakes!!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
loved it, exactly as submitted! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Made this exactly as written and it was GRITTY. I knew it had something to do with bringing the sugar up to temperature too quickly, and my googling confirmed that. If the sugar granules aren't dissolved before coming to a boil, they will never dissolve. I made it a second time, bringing it up to 250 degrees F slowly and the icing is perfect. But the way this is written did not work for me and there was no fixing it... had to start over. But when I did, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Love this recipe ! The only change I make is to use milk instead of half-and-half. Absolutely delicious on butter pecan cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very yummy; I only made a few changes - 1/3 cup of heavy whipping cream instead of half-n-half & 1/2tsp of vanilla as I didn't want it to take over the flavor. Also I just put the butter in saucepan, melted it added the sugar & stirred well for about a minute & then added the whipping cream & then continue to stir for about 2-3 minutes. Then removed from heat, added the vanilla & salt and transferred to bowl & added the sifted powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missladyd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is one of my father-in-law's favorite things and I was really excited to make it for him. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out fantastic! I was a little nervous when it was bubbling up so violently, but it turned out fine. I used my standing mixer to beat in the powdered sugar while the caramel was still a little bit warm. About an hour later I frosted a cake with it, and by the next morning it was perfectly hard and tasty. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This is an excellent departure from the usual buttercream. I needed a glaze and frosting for my donuts and cupcakes too. It filled the bill nicely and tasted wonderful. The brown sugar complemented and tasted wonderful on the applesauce cake and the nutmeg donut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I would love to give this recipe 5 stars, but I altered it. I planned on using this recipe to frost a spice cake. After making the caramel and tasting it, I found it to be quite sweet. Adding 2 c. of confectioners' sugar would've made it inedible for my family. So rather than adding the powdered sugar to make icing, I instead used the caramel as a glaze over the spice cake. As a glaze, it was fantastic: not too stiff, not too runny, and not unbearably sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I wanted to halve this recipe to ice half of a 9x13 cake. Needed to shorten boiling time of butter and dk. brown sugar to about 90 seconds. I could tell by the smell that this was necessary, probably because of the reduced amount in the pan. I also only added 1/2 cup of confectioner's sugar. The icing set up fine for a sheet cake and was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Mine didn't thicken up a lot, but it tasted delicious and was great for frosting the 13x9 molasses cake I made for my husband. The cake was his Grandma's recipe and he was yearning for a taste of his childhood, but all his aunt could tell me about the frosting was that it was brown sugar and butter. It didn't turn out to be the same as Grandma's, but his Mom and Aunt said this was better than the original on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States