Scrumptious Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa to some red velvet cookies and thought a caramel frosting would be a nice change of pace from buttercream. I chose this recipe because all the others called for heavy cream and I only had 1/2 and 1/2. Killer combo!! This was a perfect match for my cookies which got 2-3 grains of sea salt on top as well. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Chef Stef
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Delicious! Used it to frost my sticky toffee pudding cookies. Only change I may make next time is to reduce the amount I put on the cookies....it is VERY SWEET. Had to thin icing slightly with hot water until I got the consistency I wanted, but may use spiced rum next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Stef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made a half recipe for ginger snap cookies, but had to add more powder sugar so it was thick enough to spread on cookies. It was super!!! Will use recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe is almost identical to one I've been using for years, the notable difference calling for only 2 cups of confectioners sugar (why didn't I think of that?). It spreads so much easier, tastes the same, and is a favorite on devils food cake. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this recipe using light brown sugar (did not have "dark" on hand). It was fabulous. While stirring the sugar and butter, I was careful not to scrape the sides of the pan. When it was finished cooking, I poured the mixture into another bowl. Let it cool. Beat in the powdered sugar gradually. It was very creamy and smooth. Put it on an old fashion banana cake. Will definitely keep this recipe for other cakes!!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
loved it, exactly as submitted! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Made this exactly as written and it was GRITTY. I knew it had something to do with bringing the sugar up to temperature too quickly, and my googling confirmed that. If the sugar granules aren't dissolved before coming to a boil, they will never dissolve. I made it a second time, bringing it up to 250 degrees F slowly and the icing is perfect. But the way this is written did not work for me and there was no fixing it... had to start over. But when I did, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Love this recipe ! The only change I make is to use milk instead of half-and-half. Absolutely delicious on butter pecan cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very yummy; I only made a few changes - 1/3 cup of heavy whipping cream instead of half-n-half & 1/2tsp of vanilla as I didn't want it to take over the flavor. Also I just put the butter in saucepan, melted it added the sugar & stirred well for about a minute & then added the whipping cream & then continue to stir for about 2-3 minutes. Then removed from heat, added the vanilla & salt and transferred to bowl & added the sifted powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missladyd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is one of my father-in-law's favorite things and I was really excited to make it for him. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out fantastic! I was a little nervous when it was bubbling up so violently, but it turned out fine. I used my standing mixer to beat in the powdered sugar while the caramel was still a little bit warm. About an hour later I frosted a cake with it, and by the next morning it was perfectly hard and tasty. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States