Scrumptious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I would definitely fight over the last piece of this cake! The peanut butter frosting is out of this world; especially if you're a peanut butter freak like I am. I baked it in a removable tube pan and I guess because of it, I needed to add about another 20 mins. baking time. I also decreased the amount of confectioners sugar in the frosting from four cups to less than three. It was plenty sweet and absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
I made this cake for a friend, he loved it, along with all his employees. Made a second one and took it to my office, I think it was love at first bite. The only thing I had to do was add more milk to the frosting. This one is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
I made this cake for a potluck yesterday. It was a hit, although I thought the frosting was a little too sweet. My sister, who is a fudge-a-holic, loved it. I guess it depends on your sweet-tooth. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
My husband took this cake to work. Everyone said it was delicious. A lady was eating the crumbs out of the pan. Several people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AKMONKI
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
nice cake- not just the regular boring chocolate cake here. I halved the recipie to make a smaller layered cake with the frosting in between layers. but the frosting recipie did not turn out well for me at all. it was not smooth at all, so i had to add a little more milk and some melted chocolate chips to make a usable consistency. other than that, it was a very nice little cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Delicious! Moist, Rich and absolutely delicious. My family is lactose intolerant so I substituted lactose free whole milk for the buttermilk- It was still DIVINE. Will keep this recipe and make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This cake is sooo delicious, however it does take some preperation time. Overall, it is chocolaty but not too rich, and the icing makes it an instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
very, very good cake. the frosting is very addicting. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caro, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was sooo simple. I made it for my son's 12th b-day because he LOVES chocolate. It was wonderful and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
The first time I made it the center fell and it was a thick, fudgy consistancy. (probably because it was taken out when the timer beeped and I was busy /w the baby) I just made it again today and cooked it about 8 minutes longer than the cook time. It didn't fall & was very moist. It's a chewy chocolate cake /w a hint of cinnamon. Not the classic fluffy chocolate cake. I didn't do the icing this time since I used it in Death by Chocolate (i wouldn't recommend it for this because of the cinnamon) perhaps I'll give it another try someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiviaDesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States