Scrumptious Chicken Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is an excellent, healthy stew that really hits the spot. I used leftover chicken breast but omitted the fennel because I do not care for the flavor. Love the spinach in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I did a slight twist - since my boyfriend hates fennel, I swapped the fennel and italian herbs for an Indian take - curry powder, cumin, tumeric, and a pinch of all spice. It worked great. Was very easy to make, and the ingredients are great comfort food. Tasted great the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is an easy and delicious recipe. The first time I made it, it was tasty, but the chicken was over done and the lentils weren't done enough. The second time I made this dish, I cooked the lentils and chicken before hand. When I got ready to eat it, I just heated up a bowl for myself and froze the rest. That did the trick. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great flavor! I did make a few changes mostly in the preparation. I left out the fennel because I didn't have any and it was delicious without it. I also cooked it on the stove-top, not the microwave. I used 3 1/2 c. chicken broth (2 1/2 c. to start and then added 1 c. with the carrots and spinach toward the end.) I put the chicken, diced tomatoes, lentils, 2 1/2 c. chicken broth, garlic, herbs, salt and pepper in a large pot and cooked it for about an hour. Then added 1 c. water with the carrots and spinach and cooked for another 15 mins. or so, until the carrots were tender. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This really hit the spot for my pre-diabetic hubby! i doubled the recipe and added half an onion and a few stalks of celery. Everything except the spinach was thrown in a slow cooker with an extra cup of water -- I didn't even need to defrost the chicken thighs. After 8 hours or so, I mixed in 8oz of frozen spinach and served immediately. The spices could use a little tweaking, but as easy weeknight dinners go, this was a winner. We'll definitely be making this again. Next time, I'll try using some red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was rather horrible. The fennel was very over powering (and I like fennel!). I had to add all kinds of spices and an extra can of diced tomatoes to make it edible. I gave it two stars because after I tweaked it - it was edible. I would not recommend the fennel. I would also cut the amount of lentils in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Great healthy stew, I loved the fennel and also added some onion, just because thats our personal preference. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
One pot, what could be better! Left out the fennel - don't like it. You really need those 8 cloves of garlic, otherwise the flavor is flat. I also added about 8 sliced mushrooms. This is a keeper. Yummy, hearty and healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I love this recipe. I've made it multiple times and it's so good. I modified it this time by adding Rotell instead of the tomatos, simply because I didn't have tomatos and omited the Italian seasoning. It gave it a nice little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Served this to my lentil-hating husband and my 16-month-old as well as my parents. They all loved it. I cooked it in the slow cooker as one of the other reviews recommended. The only thing I added was hot sauce to mine to spice it up a bit. Other than that, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States