Scrumptious Chicken Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is an excellent, healthy stew that really hits the spot. I used leftover chicken breast but omitted the fennel because I do not care for the flavor. Love the spinach in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Great healthy stew, I loved the fennel and also added some onion, just because thats our personal preference. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
What an absolutely delightful way to eat healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is one of my favorites. It tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
WOW!!!! this was really good. my family loved it! will make againa and again. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is an easy and delicious recipe. The first time I made it, it was tasty, but the chicken was over done and the lentils weren't done enough. The second time I made this dish, I cooked the lentils and chicken before hand. When I got ready to eat it, I just heated up a bowl for myself and froze the rest. That did the trick. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I did a slight twist - since my boyfriend hates fennel, I swapped the fennel and italian herbs for an Indian take - curry powder, cumin, tumeric, and a pinch of all spice. It worked great. Was very easy to make, and the ingredients are great comfort food. Tasted great the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was rather horrible. The fennel was very over powering (and I like fennel!). I had to add all kinds of spices and an extra can of diced tomatoes to make it edible. I gave it two stars because after I tweaked it - it was edible. I would not recommend the fennel. I would also cut the amount of lentils in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
One pot, what could be better! Left out the fennel - don't like it. You really need those 8 cloves of garlic, otherwise the flavor is flat. I also added about 8 sliced mushrooms. This is a keeper. Yummy, hearty and healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This really hit the spot for my pre-diabetic hubby! i doubled the recipe and added half an onion and a few stalks of celery. Everything except the spinach was thrown in a slow cooker with an extra cup of water -- I didn't even need to defrost the chicken thighs. After 8 hours or so, I mixed in 8oz of frozen spinach and served immediately. The spices could use a little tweaking, but as easy weeknight dinners go, this was a winner. We'll definitely be making this again. Next time, I'll try using some red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States