Scrumptious Chicken Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Served this to my lentil-hating husband and my 16-month-old as well as my parents. They all loved it. I cooked it in the slow cooker as one of the other reviews recommended. The only thing I added was hot sauce to mine to spice it up a bit. Other than that, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very tasty and easy! I made this in the pressure cooker, on high for 10 minutes, and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I really loved this - it seemed so healthy and hearty - but my husband and step-son didn't care for it. My husband isn't a fan of lentils - I even cooked them separate to keep them from getting hard but even with them perfectly soft he just didn't care for it. I didn't have fennel seed; I added diced summer squash & broccoli to use them up and I really did love it. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was delicious! Highly recommended. I first made this earlier today for a group of ten quilters. Everyone asked for the recipes and had seconds! I only made one alteration, and that was to add mushrooms, because I love to have mushrooms in stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Cupertino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My kids said to rate this recipe 5 stars. This is the first time my son has eaten cooked spinach and actually liked it. I put in only a pinch of fennel seed. I also added leftover pasta and extra chicken broth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I followed this pretty well putting all ingredients in the crock pot minus tomatoes and it turned out great. I used canned peas instead of spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I would have given it a perfect score because the flavor was great BUT the Lentils never cooked through. I think the next time I make it I will cook it on top of the stove as I do my lentil soup. I was a little leary in the first place when I saw it was a microwave dish. Nothing ever comes out right in a microwave except just to reheat something. Good Flavor though. Easy and the fennel was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This really hit the spot for my pre-diabetic hubby! i doubled the recipe and added half an onion and a few stalks of celery. Everything except the spinach was thrown in a slow cooker with an extra cup of water -- I didn't even need to defrost the chicken thighs. After 8 hours or so, I mixed in 8oz of frozen spinach and served immediately. The spices could use a little tweaking, but as easy weeknight dinners go, this was a winner. We'll definitely be making this again. Next time, I'll try using some red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
One pot, what could be better! Left out the fennel - don't like it. You really need those 8 cloves of garlic, otherwise the flavor is flat. I also added about 8 sliced mushrooms. This is a keeper. Yummy, hearty and healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was rather horrible. The fennel was very over powering (and I like fennel!). I had to add all kinds of spices and an extra can of diced tomatoes to make it edible. I gave it two stars because after I tweaked it - it was edible. I would not recommend the fennel. I would also cut the amount of lentils in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States